GT3 car choices over time at RD events

640er

♫♪.ılıl|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|̲̅̅=̲̅̅|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|lılı.♫♪
Being stuck at home and looking for something to do (except Simracing) I was wondering, which GT3 car is the most frequently used here at RD. I am fairly new to Simracing and have little knowledge about racing and GT3 but after taking part in my first GT3 races, I was wondering which GT3 car is the most used? I already had a feeling which one would come out on top after participating in a few races, but it's always a good idea to look at the data to support a suspicion.

Therefore, I build a little tool which analyzed all threads in the AC-Racing Club forum which where GT3 related and featured more than one type of GT3 car (GT3 and multi-class races). The only prerequisite to get valid data out of a thread was, that there has to be a list of participants which also includes the car chosen. Unfortunately, that was not always the case, especially in older threads so there is some data missing.

For example, if the thread had a post with a list like this:
data was gathered. Otherwise the data is missing. Because it is about users choice/preferences, it is not important if a race finally took place or not. If a starting list only contained, for example, three entries and the race was cancelled, the data was gathered.

The cars:
Some information about the cars. I could distinguish between the two McLarens, but I had to put the different versions of Mercedes and Porsche's into one overall brand category. For Plot1, I also added an overall category for the McLaren, which takes both types into account.

The data:
  • 62 months - 05/2014 until Sun 15-03 (GT3 @ Spa)
  • GT3 Threads with data: 304
  • GT3 Threads without data: 229
  • Total GT3 Threads: 533
  • Total number of valid registrations: 4176
  • Structure (example):

DateMcLaren650sFerrari 488BMW Z4...
2015-04321...
2015-05452...
Results: