GPU upgrade

I'm a complete noob when it comes to computers, so please bear with me.
I have a 2 year old Acer Predator desktop:
CPU - i5 6400 2.70 GHz Quad-core (4 Core)
GPU - GTX 960

I want to upgrade my GPU, not necessarily immediately as I know prices might go down after the RTX 20xx release.
1) What's the most you think my current CPU could handle without bottlenecking the GPU? 1070, 1070ti, 1080, 1080ti?
Or 2) can I upgrade say to a 1080ti and upgrade my CPU later? If so, what would be the most obvious CPU choice?
I don't want to go overboard having to change everything, just have a system that can handle racing sims for the next say 4 years. I don't play any other type of games and use my PC exclusively for sim racing (single monitor, no VR and no streaming).

Last edited:
Your Intel i5 6400 is still a very decent CPU, but it'll start to show its limits sometime soon, for two reasons:
  1. Clock Rate (Speed).
    It has a somewhat modest clock rate (2.70GHz base, 3.30GHz turbo), which is an aspect of great importance for PC gaming. With current processors (Intel i3/i5/i7 and AMD Ryzen), at this point, ideally you'll want a processor close and beyond 4.0GHz, preferencially on all its cores (base clock).

2. Core Count.
    It's a quad-core without hyperthreading (so, 4 cores and 4 threads) and with programs becoming increasingly multi-threaded, it will eventually start to show limitations, just like has happened with dual-cores a few years ago.
    If it had high clock rate (like it's bigger brother i5 6600K has, and that one can even be overclocked), you could somewhat counteract the core count limitation and prolongue the lifetime/usage of the system, but as we've seen in the first point above, it has low clock rate. And you can't overclock that processor, so....... :unsure:

If we weight what's "in more need of upgrade", your CPU (i5 6400) or the GPU (GTX 960), I'd say that it's definitely the GPU that should be upgraded first.