Good Xbox 360 Controller Setup?

Hello everyone!

Right, I'm a newbie when it comes to hardcore sim racing. I have a racing team on Forza 3 and race regularly with touring cars with an Xbox 360 controller.

I am a good driver and usually race with no assist and manual gears with clutch.

So I have some good experience when it comes to racing games. My only issue with the game (Race 07) is that I can't get smooth steering with my Xbox 360 controller.

Can anyone please recommend me a good controller setup that might replicate smooth steering or better yet Forza 3?

This help will be muchly appreciated!
Thanks!

Dude i would just recomend getting a wheel.
I know you seem to have put alot of effort into getting used to the controller while playing foroza but if you realy want a smooth drive it would be easyer to obtain with a wheel, most the people that play race probably use a wheel for this pupose.
Foroza on the other hand may be designed more around the controller set as its made for and to my knowledge only on the X-box.

However if you have ur heart set on using a controller you could probably play with sensativity and dead zones to get it to be less sensative to your movement but this may be very difficalt to achive as the controller analogue has very little movement to play with...

good luck all the same.

I have thought about getting a steering wheel in the future but current restraints (bedroom size, wanting a racing seat) are quiet far away. I've noticed that when driving the SEAT TDI on Race 07 the steering becomes jerky because the analogue stick snaps straight back to center rather than easing down to center. I played Race On last night, racing the Lister Storm (awesome car and sound btw) and it seemed less jerky and alot smoother, almost resembling Forza. Is it something to do with tunning the steering lock?

Thanks for the reply!

Is it something to do with tunning the steering lock?