F1 2012 Getting owned by AI

F1 2012 The Game (Codemasters)
Hello to all,
I am having a strange issue I hope someone can help.
F1 2012 Race= Budapest Platform= xbox360
Settings...Intermediate, Assists On, Red bull, Damage = Full Carrer Mode
I am not very good at this game hence the settings.
Anyway, I qualified in 9th for race. I felt like I had done pretty good. Started race on Options 20% race I think. When race started, the AI just blasted past me one car after another! I was in 23rd before the first turn! I have never had this happen. I then tried Quick race mode and started in random 8th. The same thing pretty much happened using the Red Bull w/all the same settings as above. Just wizzed by me.

When I looked at my tires on the car status symbol they where orangeish, fairly worn.
Would it have made that much of a difference if tires were in great shape? Engine showed it was at 97%. I don't get it. This happened on several restarts...always the same even on Rich fuel and using KERS!
I guess I should have tried to qualify with new options and set a good time right away? I am not that well versed on the rules. Do you have to start the race with the same tires your best qually time was in Q3? Even if so, I just don't see this happening. I don't think the tire had anything to do with it,as I was getting passed by almost every car in such a short period. Even the Marussia staring in 22cd and me in 9th with the Red Bull.:confused:

I checked my pedal functions on the Fanatec Properties page and throttle is 100%.
Thank you in advance for any help.

Last edited:
Hey.. perhaps you were not reving enough before the start. Compared to other "simulation" games, in F1 2012 I think you get the best torque when starting at full rev.I tried once to start like they do in real life, setting a lower rev to optimize the launch speed but nope.. doesn't work in F1 2012. Try to see if you were at full rev at the start of the race.

No , full revs for sure.