Cars First time modding

Hello everyone, I have a desire to mod a car or a track and basically I would like to know what exactly should I have, knowledge, any good tutorials? I'm studying Information Technology and I am third year. I've downloaded Autodesk, is there anything else that is needed ? What kind of knowledge is required except using 3D Modeling Tools ?

Well, Autodesk is the wrong tool. I guess your best option is aquiring a non CAD modelling tool of choice (3DSMax, Blender, Maya etc. You want polygons. Industrial CAD programs like Autodesk, Catia, Creo create primarily Vector based (Nurbs) models that are of no use for games) and start with simple modelling tutorials.

Then this subforum (http://www.assettocorsa.net/forum/index.php?forums/general-modding-discussion.26/&order=view_count) of the official forums, sorted by "Views", should be your next address.

And plan in lots of time

My only advice is start small if you are going to try and do a track. Make something small and learn the basics of getting something working in the sim before you try some 40 mile epic monster adventure track.

Start slow, careful and with many tutorials, and forums reading. One step at a time, because you don't want to go far and then realize how much things you'll have to redo.

I couldn't tell much about tracks. I'm more advanced with a car.

I have same advice, go simple at first. Prepare best possible references for modeling. Watch out for dimensions and scales. If it is a car, do simple body, simple wheels, simple interior if you like, simple steering wheel. Apply materials to selected faces (same object can have multiple materials). Then try to UV map them for textures (textures are applied to materials, so different objects which have same material on them shares a texture, and a shader eventually). Play with shaders is ksEditor. Repeat it without going too far till you'll understand things and build confidence, skills.

You'll fail, but everybody did :D Good luck.