Faster Than Speed - Brazil: FTS ends the season with a difficult race at Interlagos

Discussion in 'Formula SimRacing' started by Christian Smirnoff, Nov 11, 2013.

  1. Christian Smirnoff

    Christian Smirnoff

    Faster Than Speed didn't enjoy a great season finale at Interlagos. Carlos Martín had a fantastic start in the World Championship race but his performance was compromised by car damage, dropping him to 12th at the finish. Giuseppe Marconi was taken out of the Brazilian GP in the first corner.

    On his return, Carlos Hernandez finished the World Trophy race in 10th place.

    In the World Championship, Giuseppe Marconi qualified in 16th place. Team-mate Carlos Martín had to start from the back of the grid, 21st, to comply with a penalty from the Korean GP.

    Giuseppe's race was unfortunately very short. As he approached Turn 1, he was taken out by Van der Linden, causing terminal damage to his FTS-P13. Despite the disappointing end to his season, the 8th place at Suzuka will make 2013 an year to remember for Giuseppe.

    Carlos made a great start, moving up from 21st to 14th by the end of the opening lap. A lap later, he was in 12th place, after a great move on Disley. On a 3-stops strategy, Carlos showed strong pace on the softer tyre compound, putting up a fight against Puschke and Mallorqui and later overtaking Boshove into Turn 1.

    However, with his car damaged from minor contacts with Falcon and Kolarec, plus twice being hit by Cabo, his balance and pace on the harder tyre compound were compromised. While Carlos showed he had the pace to fight for the last points, car damage and a couple of minor errors dropped him to 12th at the finish.

    In what was an incosistent season from Faster Than Speed, the team was unable to repeat last season's result. FTS finished the season in 10th place with 23 points, just 3 points behind the Bad T Pescara UEIN team, and ahead of the Jasco Spain PSR and Slitex Racing teams.

    In the World Trophy, Carlos Hernandez returned and delivered a strong performance to finish 10th and take his best result of the season. Carlos Martín qualified in 3rd place but then had to retire after an incident with Siggy. James Sadler, meanwhile, also had to retire early.

    With the 2013 season now over, we would like to congratulate the season's champions: Bono Huis, Petar Brljak, Ben Tusting and the winning teams: Precision Motorsports and GhostSpeed Racing Team.

    2014 will be a season of big changes ahead for Faster Than Speed! Please stay tuned for news on our 2014 campaign and our FTS-P14 challenger! Follow us on Facebook, Twitter (@FTS_Racing) and Google+ for the latest news and announcements! Have a nice break!

    Faster Than Speed
    Press Release
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2013
    • Like Like x 6