Fanatec: Interview with CEO Thomas Jackermeier

Brian Clancy

Premium
Here is the interview with Thomas Jackermeier, CEO of Fanatec.

First, Thanks for taking part in the interview Thomas. Could you tell us a little bit about yourself and how you came to start making Sim Racing hardware?
I am 40 years old and I am a fan of Simracing since the Formula One Grand Prix came out in 1992. At that time there was only the Thrustmaster T1 available and that was my first wheel of course. After I finished my masters degree in economics I decided to jump into that market as there was still plenty of opportunity there. I founded Endor (mother company of the brand “Fanatec”) 11 years ago and we always focused on making racing wheels. We made the official Sony Playstation 2 wheels and the official wheel for the old Xbox and sold several hundred thousand wheels before Logitech even entered the market of racing wheels. All that happened mostly in Europe and mostly on consoles so that we are quite new for a lot of people out there.

You have created a really top quality set of wheels and pedals. The one thing that, to many of us sim racers, is the holy grail of wheels would be a F1 replica wheel. Whilst there are such wheels available they are mostly high end custom built articles reserved for those with very deep pockets. Is there any chance of you creating a F1 style wheel that would place in the same price range as your current wheels?
Our current wheels are already calculated very aggressive so by adding a lot of features like a big LED screen it would be hard to keep the current price level but it is definitely something we are looking at. I see that there is a big price gap between some cheap crappy F1 wheels and something solid so this is a chance. I would love to make 10 projects at the same time but it has proven to be faster to make them one by one so please be patient ;)