RD Series on Simracing.GP

Daily WTCR races on Simracing.GP Weekly GT3 Endurance races on Simracing.GP Weekly GT3 Sprint Races on Simracing.GP Weekly GT4 Sprint Races on Simracing.GP

Fanatec Clubsport V2.5

I am currently using the Fanatec CSL Elite PS4 wheel base on a PC. I am an average driver and race mainly for fun. Do not race online a lot but will do the games daily challenges. Games I play are Dirt Rally series and the Assetto Corsa games. Was wondering if upgrading to the V2.5 was worth it for a casual racer. Would like some opinions from people who have made the switch. Cost of the base is not a factor in this question but I know I cannot justify going to a DD wheel base for what I do at this time. Thanks for any answers or suggestions.

RasmusP

Premium
Hi, I don't own the csl elite base myself but have a friend who has so I kinda know how it compares to my csw 2.5.
I also had a G27 before and a Thrustmaster TS-PC for 2 weeks.

I'd say the upgrade is only worth it if you're using your CSL base at 100% and you are wishing for more ffb strength.
If not, the upgrade is kinda marginal as in a bit smoother, spins faster, a bit more silent (the belt, not the cooling) and maybe a slightly higher fidelity.

But it's no "Oh yeah this more awesome". It's just.. I'd say 10-20% better in everything and of course, stronger ffb.
But if you are not constantly wishing for more force, it's really not worth it!

If you want a noticeable upgrade but not really more force, the next step would be a DD wheel.

I made this upgrade and was pleasantly surprised at how much better it was. I only bought it because I was tired of the flex from the plastic base of the CSL and knew CSW was mostly metal with beefy ball bearings. I knew on paper it was 25% more torque so expected higher highs and better dynamic range but that was all.