F1 Breakaway not happening?


Aug 10, 2007

Eight leading Formula One teams have agreed not to launch a rival championship next year after reaching a deal with motor sport's governing body.
FIA president Max Mosley said there would be a unified F1 series in 2010 following a meeting in Paris.
He also confirmed he would not stand for a fifth term, despite previously insisting he was not prepared to step down as part of any potential agreement.
But he said after the deal was agreed


FIA's statement from the meeting that I read from

The FIA has released the following statement after the World Motor Sport Council meeting in Paris...

The World Motor Sport Council met in Paris on 24 June 2009. The following decisions were taken:

Formula One World Championship
All currently competing teams have committed to the FIA Formula One World Championship.

There will be no alternative series or Championship and the rules for 2010 onwards will be the 2009 regulations as well as further regulations agreed prior to 29 April 2009.

As part of this agreement, the teams will, within two years, reduce the costs of competing in the Championship to the level of the early 1990s. The manufacturer teams have agreed to assist the new entries for 2010 by providing technical assistance.

The manufacturer teams have further agreed to the permanent and continuing role of the FIA as the sport's governing body. They have also committed to the commercial arrangements for the FIA Formula One World Championship until 2012 and have agreed to renegotiate and extend this contract before the end of that period.

All teams will adhere to an upgraded version of the governance provisions of the 1998 Concorde Agreement.

The following teams have been accepted for the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship.

Team (Constructor)
Scuderia Ferrari Malboro (Ferrari)
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes (McLaren Mercedes)
BMW Sauber F1 Team (BMW Sauber)
Renault F1 Team (Renault)
Panasonic Toyota Racing (Toyota)
Scuderia Toro Rosso (STR TBA)
Red Bull Racing (RBR TBA)
AT&T Williams (Williams Toyota)
Force India F1 Team (Force India Mercedes)
Brawn GP Formula One Team (Brawn TBA)
Campos Meta Team (Campos Cosworth)
Manor Grand Prix (Manor Cosworth)
Team US F1 (Team US F1 Cosworth)

In view of this new agreement and with the prospect of a stable future for Formula One, FIA President Max Mosley has confirmed his decision not to stand for re-election in October this year.

Martin Bulgin

Jul 19, 2008
At last we can get back to the racing, looking forward to having 26 cars on the grid next year, it should make for more incidents and break downs (dont seem to have many any more) and shake up the rear of the grid a bit.

Matt Wills

Feb 22, 2009
This is good news for sure. I was worried that the sport would implode. A breakaway series wouldn't have been good news - the IRL wrecked champ car.

Resi Respati

Oct 23, 2008
Damn, hope F1 will start with all new rules, especially the "one set of regulations and listening to the fans' wishes" thingy. :D

And for the new leader? Bram. :rotfl:


Rhys Gardiner

Jul 8, 2008
Damn, hope F1 will start with all new rules, especially the "one set of regulations and listening to the fans' wishes" thingy. :D
Aah... sorry to disappoint you Resi, but I read somewhere on F1 Fanatic that they'll be sticking with rules broadly similar to this year's. :pizza2: [I only posted the preceding smiley because I feel incredibly hungry at the time of typing.]