Does standalone rFactor2 license work with steam edition?

rf1 and rF2 are no longer owned by the same company. The old licesnse codes are probably not supported any longer either. rF2 is solely run and updated thru Steam for S397. The old company, ISI, is completely out of the picture for rF2. I believe they still own rF1 but I have no knowledge how that is being distributed these days. A stand alone version of rF2 would not receive any updates nor would DLC purchases be possible. There was a period of time several years ago when the transfer to Steam was free. That time period was extended and lasted nearly two years. However, that free transfer time has long since expired. You might be able to contact the new owners of rF2, Studio 397, but they are most likely not under any obligation to allow a free transfer. Try Paul Jeffries here or Marcels Offerman. (Hope I spelled those correctly, this long past my bed time)
Finally if there is no solution for your old licenses, I would suggest waiting for one of the many seasonal sales on Steam. rF2 is often offered at a large discount during those sales.

actually, you triggered a memory with this - I do actually have the rFactor2 steam activation code. However, if there is any guidance available on how to use it, I would be grateful as I can't see where to input it, just that it wants to charge me

Cheers

Les

actually, you triggered a memory with this - I do actually have the rFactor2 steam activation code. However, if there is any guidance available on how to use it, I would be grateful as I can't see where to input it, just that it wants to charge me

Cheers

Les

Down left on your steam app there is a "Add a game" button, click that and "activate product on Steam". Insert the code there ;)

Hi again - the game installed, but will not run, despite running the config OK. You click on 'play', then after a few seconds of a small rF2 splash screen, it goes straight back to the Steam page.

Anyone have this problem?