Do F1 cars need to be louder?

This is a question I have been asking since I went to the 2014 British Grand Prix, and has been raised a bit further after I went to the British GP last weekend.

The previous year was the first time I ever went to see a race. The cars were just so loud that ear defenders were basically mandatory.

Now I am a little different in this situation, as my ears are fairly sensitive (I have perfect pitch) and unlike others, they don't get used to loud noise even if its continuous, unlike with others, instead it just develops into a headache. Even EARPLUGS didn't do the job with GP2 cars in the morning, so for the F1 cars with V8 engines, ear defenders were mandatory for me. I was sitting at Luffield, probably the loudest stand on the track.

In 2014 however, the first year of the V6 Turbo Hybrid engines, where I sat at Luffield once again. The cars were a lot quieter and I didn't need to wear anything on my ears. And because of that, not only was I able to appreciate the atmosphere properly as well, but I actually heard the cars louder than I did in 2013 where I needed to wear ear defenders, and was able to get a thrill from them without them doing my ears in, in fairness, they are still very loud, just not too loud.

Earplugs or ear defenders can really suck the life out of the experience at times. When I was at Woodcote for the GP2 race on Saturday, I couldn't get as much of a thrill from the cars as I had to wear those fricken cups over my ears. It made me hear the cars so damn quiet. However for the F1 when the cars weren't too loud on Sunday at Stowe, I didn't need to wear anything on my ears, and I was able to get a thrill.