"Disappearing trees" surreal RBR graphics bug

Frustrated newbie here who recently installed RBR for the first time. What a game – it lives up to the hype and more, even nowadays! Loving the stock content... for the first two minutes or so after I boot up the game. After that, all trees and most trackside (stage-side?) objects disappear and never return. Below is the beginning of Harwood Forest before and after:

Screen Shot 2020-03-18 at 6.28.11 PM.png

Screen Shot 2020-03-18 at 6.29.56 PM.png

From then on, in other stages (and even in the menu screen background) the trees etc. are gone. Worth noting that you can still crash into the invisible trees – as I've discovered many times already! :)

A little research revealed that this is a longstanding bug. See for example:

Any RBR veterans out there know of any fixes? Thank you in advance for your help, folks.

Note that I'm playing it through a VMware virtual machine on a Mac. Mac specs:
Screen Shot 2020-03-18 at 6.48.41 PM.png

The VM can use 2 CPU cores, 4.6 GB of RAM, and a little over a GB of shared graphics memory.
Not spectacular, but RBR runs well on the VM (with very good FPS from the get-go) so I doubt it's that my machine is overloaded. However, let me know if you think that's the problem!

Also, I receive this concerning message when I boot up the game:
Screen Shot 2020-03-18 at 6.27.27 PM (cropped).png

Perhaps it's related to this?

Lastly, FYI I am using the latest FixUp plugin, as well as these settings in the RichardBurnsRally config file:
Screen Shot 2020-03-18 at 7.07.22 PM.png

In general, vm's yield rendering bugs more often than not. I'd suggest creating a new completely vanilla install on another disk. There's an up-to-date standalone application called RBRPRO Manager, similar to RSRBR with ngp & other plugins already installed. I get runtime errors (on real windows) when using ngp plugin with a cd installment or with RSRBR, unlike with RBRPRO. So perhaps that's worth a try