Dedicated server access ??

my name is phil(fil140), i am brand new to the world of pc but i am learning fast.Before september 2016 i couldnt evenswitch a pc on.i have been console racing for 20years and have now built a sweet system.
I followed the r3e instructions and i now have a fully functioning dedicated server for myself and three team mates, we can all join and race but i need to give them access to the server control room(8088).
My problem is that i do not know,or understand exactly how to grant them access to the server, i can get as far as the point where i need to create an access file but i have no idea of how to do this.
All of the 'how to's' only go as far as saying, create a file.
How do i create a file?and how do i know that its not a txt file?and what type of file should it be? I am in the folder containing the dedicated server, should i have accessed this from notepad file tab?and i have to 'create an access file', i have no idea of how to do this, so i need very VERY! Simple click by click instructions(idiot proof)
Please if you have the time, i would really apreciate your help.
I have really tried to google this problem and i have asked on other forums, but nothing helpful comes back