F1 2010 Clueless about playing online

F1 2010 The Game (Codemasters)
Hi everyone,

I've recently registered here and would like some help about getting to the online races. I've applied for my licence, and am waiting for it to be approved, but I'm clueless on how I would connect to the RD server.

I have an Xbox 360, but I'm a bit confused if I need the wireless adaptor or not. I've read the races are held on the RD servers, I'm guessing it is not through xbox live ? how do I connect to the server,is there a link somewhere?

I tried a shared connection with my PC last year but it didn't work; can anyone tell me what speed of connection would support online racing? I cuurently have a half meg connection, but the download rate is good.

I hope I don't sound too stupid, I've never tried playing online before because I've found xbox live is pretty expensive (price of wireless adaptor and gold subscription).

Any comments or advice would be appreciated.

If you're playing on Xbox 360, then I think the game won't be hosted on one of RD's servers. Xbox Live has it's own way of sorting that, so I imagine it would just mean adding an admin as a friend on Xbox Live, and have them get you into the race.

For this, you will need to have an Xbox Live Gold subscription, which requires that your Xbox be connected to the Internet. Whether that's by a wireless adapter, or an ethernet cable running straight to your router, is for you to decide what suits your current arrangement best.

And don't worry about sounding stupid. There was a time when we were in the same position you're in, asking the same questions. :)

Hi there, unfortunatly F1 2011 doesn't support dedicated servers, so this is how it works for all platforms.