Can you survive without a tachometer?

Not really sure of this is the correct place to post this question. If it isn't then please feel free to move it :)

As far as I know (I'm a complete racing noob so please bear with me), instruments are vital in providing info about your car. I'm talking about speed, oil/water temps, revs, fuel levels.

Question is, if ever the tachometer fails for some reason, can you still drive (in a conpetitive setting) by feel alone?

I like to have shift lights or a tach in clear view, but sound is always my primary indicator. Much more difficult to drive without sound than without a tachometer.

My Volvo has a nice tachometer but I must admit I hardly use it. Maybe during the first few days when I got the car but once you are used to sound that's my prime indicator.

tachometer means rev counter, right?

i didn't have one on my first bike, and i generally go on engine sound once i'm familiar with something.

My Volvo has a nice tachometer but I must admit I hardly use it. Maybe during the first few days when I got the car but once you are used to sound that's my prime indicator.

Mine was not even born with one:
tazz_mileage.jpg

So needless to say, I cope fine without it. :laugh:

My Dodge W150 had no tach from the factory, but I did add one since the engine revs slow and you only use gears 2, 3, and 4 on the street. Wanted to nail the rev-matching and see what it cruises the highway at.
1st is not synchronized, is straight cut, and low enough ratio that you really only use it for heavy towing and off-roading. :D

Rv1i4j8.jpg

Pic taken when I got the truck, yes, I have since cleaned it and fixed the climate controls... but then it got dirty again because, you know, dirt. :p

From the motor swap in my car, my tach is off about 2k, and has been going on a year now. I havent felt the need to fix it. I do high performance driving without issue, on feel/sound alone. So I do believe it is possible, though not for all.