Cars BMW Z4 3.0i E85 with photogrammetry (WIP)

After struggling with all the hidden curves and shapes on this car, and with blueprints that didn't really stack up with reality in many places, I decided I wanted to just spline cage model the car and use photomatched cameras and photo backgrounds in my 3D application to achieve that.
But after struggling with all the hidden curves on this car that wouldn't even show up in spline cages, I decided to just have a bash with full on photogrammetry capture!

I've never used this approach before, so getting really sharp results was key to getting a really great and accurate model, so I spent many hours shooting and testing.

I think I did about 30 different tests with things like dusting the car, various lighting techniques, wrapping in paper, adding feature points (tape marks all over the bonnet), and about 5 different full car sets before refining the process to the point I was happy modelling off the data I got.

Also it seems a few people are using photogrammetry for cars a bit more, so I thought I'd share the techniques I'd found worked really nicely for capturing my Z4!

So I'll just start to babble and hopefully it's all making sense to those familiar with the technique. For everyone else then hopefully the pictures will be of interest :)

Firstly, the camera I use is a Ricoh GR with 16mpx. I also have a circ polariser stuck on there (literally with black-tack :) ). It's on a very hefty tripod so I can shoot away for long exposures without issue, or even adjust things on camera between multiple shots (will explain later) and not worry too much about movement.
camera_tripod.jpg

Another little detail worth mentioning for those who saw it stuck on there, is my little radius gauge. Very handy for measuring radius of panel edges and bevels etc. No need to guess when you can measure, since even these photo scans or laser scans can't capture bevels all that well.
radius_gauge.jpg