Are there any wind sim solutions with LARGE fans?

Hey hey! I'm looking to add wind simulation to my rig, but all DIY projects and pre-built solutions I can find are using tiny (<200mm) PC case fans. I guess the reason for that is most people have monitors on their rigs that would block large fans, but as I'm a VR driver without any monitor on my rig, I would like a bigger fan that I could just place in front of the rig.

I've sort of tried it out with a regular house fan and it feels good already without any simulation, but I would like to take it to the next level with full wind simulation. Does anybody have any ideas of how to achieve this or maybe know of some existing pre-built options that I could use?

Usually people go for bilge blowers if they want more than the standard fans give you.

I have two and they are off the rig so going through ducting. At the end of the ducts they get up to about 50km/h wind speed. That drops down to about 26 where my face is at. If you dont use ducting and mount on the rig then you will have less losses.

Still, its more than I use, I never have them running full, two of them at once is quite a breeze.

Upvote 0
I've played some with bigger fans and it didn't go well.
The problem is momentum.
The fans take too long to spool up and then don't spool down quickly and the timing is all off.
Kinda like the lipsync being wrong on you TV -- the lag is too great -- you get more distraction than immersion.
You need to balance CFM and responsiveness.

Upvote 0
My first wind sim had 2 Thermalright TY 143 fans, (14 cm, up to 2500 rpm), installed in front of my face. Not bad and quite silent. However, since I use VR, the headset made me feel less airflow on my face than I expected.