Another Newbie - could really use some help

I'm a late 50's and completely new to PC gaming and interested in Sim Racing. I would like to get into IRacing after getting my feet wet. I also have a 7 year old that is crazy about Nascar and would like to let him drive in some single player sims or practice modes.

I have had no previous experience with PC gaming software or hardware.

After approximately two months of reading, I found a good deal on a New non gaming Windows 10, 64Bit computer, ($399). A Dell 3847, unclockable Intel i5 4460 @ 3.2GHz. 8 GB of RAM

I also purchased a Sapphire Nitro R9 380 and a 550W Seasonic PSU, (not installed yet). My total investment is right at $700. I hope I have correctly thought this would be a good setup to start and hoping it should last a couple of years before needing or wanting to upgrade.

After Much reading, I decided to go with the Logitech G29 because it was $324 @ Bestbuy and I got 18 months no interest which makes it very doable for me after everything else I have already spent. I also liked the pedals for a starter setup and will get a shifter after getting the rest up and running.

I would have liked the T500 RS or a Fanatec but my budget wouldn't allow at this point, maybe later. Or sooner if I am sorry with this purchase.

I downloaded Nascar 15 hoping the 7 year could use it but not sure it's going to work with the G29. If anyone can comment which sims they know will for sure work with the G29, that would be helpful.

I have the computer up and running but do not know where to start with the wheel. I can't seem to find any instructions what so ever and feeling pretty dumb at this point.