AMS and overclocking

I just wondered whether people attempt to overclock much with AMS I've got a decent rig, nothing too spectacular, but am really struggling to get any decent performance, graphically, out of AMS. Also of late, I'm getting more and more CTD just randomly. This evening I tried some recommended overclock settings for my card, GTX980 NVIDIA, and it went to the track loading screen then just crashed to an empty black, where upon I had to turn off my computer completely.

I just wondered how successful others were?

That GTX980 should run AMS like a champ. It runs triples on my system without breaking a sweat. Do you have Nvidia Inspector installed? Something may be off with the driver settings. Check out the Nvidia settings starting on Page 19 of Automobilisdta Manual PDF. If you go into your Steam library, right click on Automobilista, select "Show Manual." I use those settings the game runs nicely.

Oh, like I'm a total newbie to overclocking...I have no idea about it. I take it I just said something monumentally dumb then?!

To be honest with you, I've sort of added and added with my system, so it's a bit of a weird Frankenstein setup, I might go back to the shop I got all the changes and upgrades and see if there is a bottleneck somewhere.

However I will say... As much as I LOVE ams, I have zero problems running anything else on my computer. So maybe the actual engine is a bit long in the tooth, as we know it is really...

Roll on Reiza 18/19!!

Can you give us your full PC specs? :)

CPU:
GPU: gtx 980
RAM:
Windows:
Monitor(s):
Resolution(s):
Vsync on/off or fps counter/lock:

Anyway just download openhardwaremonitor, open it, select gpu load and core clock to be drawed in the graph, run AMS for a few minutes and then see for 2 things:
Is your 980 even in 3d clock? My 1070 at default settings thought it would be a nice idea to run AMS with 500 MHz instead of 2000 MHz...