F1 2013 AI - slow behind you, impossibly fast ahead of you

F1 2013 The Game (Codemasters)
Hi, I'm pretty new to the F1 series, but after only a few hours of play I found something insanely frustrating that ended with me restarting almost every race a multitude of times to get anything in the top 75%. The AI, when behind you, is easy to keep behind you until you make a mistake. However, once they pass you, it becomes literally impossible (after about one lap) to pass them. They NEVER make a mistake, their lap times go from, for example, in my most recent race, 1:46 in second (me in first after three laps at 1:39) to 1:32 two laps after I dropped into seventh after I made a bad corner. They had a seventeen second gap between eighth and ninth (me), while 10th-22nd was all within three seconds behind me. I ended up losing one more corner, dropping to one and a half seconds behind 21st, and after four more flawless (the same 1:36-1:39 as the rest of my good laps) I was THIRTY TWO seconds behind 21st. If this continues, I might not even be able to play without frustrating myself to utter oblivion and uninstalling. Sorry.

Well, just did Melbourne in an RB9, and I was 8s behind 1st and 5s ahead of 3rd (until I botched the veeery last corner on the final lap >.> ). Seems good. Times are more spread out.

Last edited by a moderator:
To be honest it doesn't look like a Out of Sight bug to me. What difficulty are you playing at?

The AI is pretty clueless when it comes to overtaking (they have decent aggression on Legend) so keeping them behind is quite easy as they cannot brake late, drive off the racing line or plan a move with the next few corners in mind. To me it looks like the AI is simply much faster than you and that's why they are bolting as soon as they pass you, otherwise they are just stuck behind you.

Try lowering the difficulty and/or go to proving grounds and start putting lap after lap until you see significant improvement in your laptimes.