Advice needed for absolute beginner

hi, I hope some of you will help me out here. I have never played a racing sim. I would like to race classic cars on classic tracks. I have done some research which has brought me to this community. I have seen mentions of GTR2 + mods Power and Glory and Le Mans Classic and Targa Florio track.

What do I need to run these programs?

I have a fairly basic PC running W10 - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G 8.00Gb Radeon Vega 12 Graphics on board. SSD drive.

As a beginner I do not want spend a great deal to start. Maybe a basic wheel/pedal Logitech G27?

What software do I need? Which version and where do I get it?

Thanks in advance. This is something I have been thinking about for a while.

Welcome to sim racing! A G27 is a great place to start. Since it's all in one and very popular so very well supported, you'll be able to get gaming pretty quickly.

Really, all you need is the G27 (maybe G29 these days?), install their drivers and software, then just boot up a sim like GTR2, setup your controls, and you should be good to go.

You'll love it. You'll want to try all the sims once you get a wheel.

Some sims will feel better than others. These old SimBin titles won't feel very good out of the box compared to like iRacing or rFactor2 but there are ways to tune Force Feedback to make it feel better.

Good luck!

You may want to look into GT Legends as well if you're into classic cars. Both games, GTR2 and GTL still offer a lot of fun today I think. I play them both regulary. I tried more modern titles that certainly look better but always come back to those two.
It may take some time to get your feet wet with sim racing, like in real life there is a learning curve. Whatever your first results, don't give up. If there are any questions I am certain you find answers here.

As I can realize, you already know what mods are. ;)
This should not be too hard for you to install them.... as GTR2 at the start was created for FIA GT cars only.