Advice for a newcomer to Sim racing on ACC

Hello folks,
I’m new to the world of Sim racing and am loving ACC. I started on a PS4 but like it enough to have bought a PC.
I’m progressing nicely in game but eventually would like to go on-line.
Now I’ve seen how iRacing deal with newcomers, by using a licensing system. I like the idea but can’t afford the outlay (have to pay for the PC first!)
Is there a progress system within ACC? How do I race on-line for the first time? I’ve looked at youtube videos but none really answer my question about progress. I briefly joined a “race” but sat in the pit wondering what happens next...
Sorry this is so basic, please be gentle.
Regards,
Rowdy

Hi, Yes and i'm sure others will add to this. Everything is related to your SA(safety rating) TR(Track Knowledge) and RC(Race Craft) . Lots of private servers for online each with different rating requirements from fully open but then expect crashes and slow progress through the ranks to team/league servers with high requirements. Its best to race the AI to get your SA.TR.RC rating high enough to then get on a public server with higher ratings and then race online as currently the AI are good for an AM like me (I can race them and beat them at around 90ai rating) but then go online as well.

Remember there is useually a practice, qualy and a race session. Some server owners put their discord details in the description when you can ask questions and some have voice chat during race etc.

Hope that helps a bit!

I would recommend joining simracing.gp and then join ACCSS
There you will find one off races as well as championships that you can sign up to if you feel ready,
They run events for rookies up to mid pack runners, though there are some pretty fast guys around.
On Thursday nights they run practice sessions with coaching available for those that want it.
If you wanted to sign up for the next championship season you have until this Friday I think,