A Unique Concept

The Sim Racing world right now is chock full of great sims (which leads to QUITE a bit of debate). Despite this, we've never received the ideal sim. One with the physics of rFactor 2, the graphics and sounds of ACC, the modability of Assetto Corsa, and the online presence of iRacing. As critics, we often like to focus on the negatives, whether it be rF2's abysmal UI, AC's sometimes questionably macro physics, or iRacing's tire model and price (and before anyone says I'm an iRacing hater, it's my number 2 sim, and has been. But the tires are not it). An idea popped up in my head one day, and I've spent a lot of time brainstorming it. I am not a programmer, nor a designer, but the concept for a sim comes out of pure creativity, and I wanted to gain insight into whether I was alone in this idea.

My idea for the perfect sim is (among other things) to drop the licensing. Big car brands charge an arm and a leg to developers these days, often restricting them to only a few models, and any large scope of cars comes at a major premium. Not to mention car companies in some cases being resistant to seeing their cars damaged in simulators. Tracks are the same way. With so much demand for such a wide range of content, some of the developer's most major costs come from having to license dozens of cars and tracks. But in the age of 3D design that can come so close to reality, as well as simulation being of the utmost importance now, ditch the licensing, but keep it real. Focus on physics in a realistic sphere, without worrying about the costs of licensing and the parameters set by brands. This is where I really want to gauge interest.