1. Do you love cycling and/or running?
    Join the RaceDepartment community on Strava here.

2014 Round 12 Recap: Austin, United States

Discussion in 'Formula SimRacing' started by Christian Smirnoff, Oct 24, 2014.

  1. Christian Smirnoff

    Christian Smirnoff

    Dian Kostadinov, from Bulgaria, has won the final round of the 2014 FSR Fantasy League with 74 points! Congratulations! You may now check your team's results in your My Team page. You can also check your performance in your Mini-Leagues.

    Fred Gosling, from Great Britain, has become the 2014 FSR Fantasy League Champion with 564 points! He has won the Thrustmaster Y-250C Gaming Headset! Congratulations! Ernesto De Angelis, from Italy, was 2nd on 535 points, while James Sadler, from Great Britain, completed the top-3 with 531 points. Hope you enjoyed the 2014 FSR Fantasy League! Thanks for participating!

    Round Results & Standings
    Race Points
    Mini-League Results

    Round Results & Standings

    In what was a nail-biting championship-deciding season finale, with Bono Huis clinching a fifth FSR WC title from Morgan Morand at the final hurdle, the 2014 FSR Fantasy League also had a thrilling championship showdown. The 2014 FSR Fantasy League had its eighth new round winner in its nine rounds! Bulgaria's Dian Kostadinov took his maiden round win with 74 points. His Eventa Simracing team consisted of Rob van Starkenburg, Carlos Martín, Jim Parisis and Patrick De Wit. Australia's Jonny Simon was 2nd on 69 points, with Liam Lagana (Malta) and Ben Cary (Great Britain) sharing 3rd place on 68 points and identical team costs and team A points, despite having slightly different lineups. Ernesto De Angelis and Michael Clarke also scored 68 points but missed out on the top-3 due to the tie-breaker criteria.

    Ernesto De Angelis was the only championship contender who enjoyed a strong round with his 5th place. Fred Gosling had the poorest round of his campaign, placing 42nd on 45 points, with his nearest rival James Sadler just behind on 43 points. Danny van der Niet was down in 65th place with 34 points, with Jonathan Holmes even further behind, 69th on 31 points.

    The low scores achieved by most championship contenders played into the hands of the leader of the standings, Fred Gosling. The British manager led the championship table after 7 of the 9 rounds of the season and was never further than 6 points away from the lead at any time. After also ending in the top-5 of the 2012 and 2013 editions of the FSR Fantasy League, with 564 points to his name and a final gap of 29 points to the championship runner-up, there's no doubt the 2014 FSR Fantasy League has a worthy Champion, who will enjoy his new Thrustmaster Y-250C Gaming Headset: Fred Gosling! The newly crowned champion succeeds Franz Schnyder, who finished 23rd on the 2014 FSR Fantasy League. Although Fred Gosling became a round winner in the 2013 edition, he has also become the first FSR Fantasy League champion to take the title without winning any of the season's rounds. Ernesto De Angelis, from Italy, jumped from 5th to take the runner-up spot with 535 points, while Great Britain's James Sadler lost a position at the end but still made the podium with 531 points. Congratulations to all of them!

    Dian Kostadinov joins Danny van der Niet (x2), Carlos Martin, Muhammed Patel, Liam Lagana, James Sadler, Giuseppe Marconi and Matt Pacher in the final list of round-winning contenders for the other Thrustmaster Y-250C Gaming Headset that will be drawn among them. The winner will soon be announced!

    Driver Results

    With a fantastic victory which gave him a fifth title few would have predicted, Bono Huis was the round's top scorer with 41 points. He was followed by 2nd-placed Jim Parisis and poleman Morgan Morand, who both scored 27 Fantasy points.

    Despite missing out on the championship title, Morgan Morand has become the 2014 FSR Fantasy League's top scorer with 272 points, ending Bono Huis' domination of the previous editions. Bono Huis was the 2nd top scorer on 249 points, with David Greco (177 points), beating Ivar Kalamees to 3rd on the list by a single point.

    Official Mini-Leagues
    • Drivers Challenge: Overall round winner Dian Kostadinov took his maiden Mini-League victory on 74 points, ahead of Jonny Simon (69 points) and Muhammed Patel (67 points). Danny van der Niet (504 points) has become the Mini-League champion, ahead of Carlos Martín (498 points) and Patrick De Wit (491 points).

    • Team Managers Challenge: Dian Kostadinov (Eventa Simracing, 74 points) has taken his first Mini-League victory, ahead of Ernesto De Angelis (Crown7NetRex, 68 points) and Xavier Carvalho (MadCape Racing Team, 60 points). Ernesto De Angelis (Crown7NetRex) has taken the Mini-League championship with 535 points, ahead of David Dominguez (Twister-Racing, 501 points) and Kris Cobb (Avid Chronic Racing, 405 points).

    • Administrators Challenge: Broadcast Director Sam Jones took his second win in this Mini-League, taking the round with 63 points. Pro Race Director Carlos Martín was 2nd on 60 points, while Ace Race Director Kris Cobb was 3rd on 57 points. ISR Club Vice-President David Dominguez has won the Mini-League title with 501 points, ahead of Carlos Martín (498 points) and ISR Club President John-Eric Saxen (479 points).

    • Round Winners Challenge: Liam Lagana took his first Mini-League victory with 68 points, with Muhammed Patel 2nd on 67 points. Sam Jones was 3rd on 63 points. Overall 2014 FSR Fantasy League champion Fred Gosling has taken the Mini-League title with 564 points, ahead of Jonathan Holmes (511 points) and David Dominguez (501 points).

    Share your Performances!

    If you are proud of your result on the ninth round of the 2014 FSR Fantasy League, or your final season position, remember you can share your achievements with your Facebook friends and Twitter followers by pressing the Facebook/Twitter icons in your My Team page!

    Feel free to discuss your performance in the round and the season overall in this thread. Do you think you have picked the right drivers for your team? Any regrets on your lineup? Are you happy with the transfers/swaps you made for this round? Did your drivers perform as expected at Austin? Do you think you made good choices throughout the season? Anything you wish you would have done differently? Let us know!

    Thank you!

    With the 2014 FSR season now over, the 2014 FSR Fantasy League has come to a close. We really hope you have enjoyed participating! Thanks for being part of the 2014 FSR Fantasy League!
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2014