2014 Round 10 Recap: Melbourne, Australia

Discussion in 'Formula SimRacing' started by Christian Smirnoff, Oct 1, 2014.

  1. Christian Smirnoff

    Christian Smirnoff

    Danny van der Niet, from the Netherlands, has won the seventh round of the 2014 FSR Fantasy League with 78 points! Congratulations! Teams are now open. You may now check your team's results and perform driver swaps and up to 2 driver transfers in your My Team page. You can also check your performance in your Mini-Leagues.

    Surprize! For the final two rounds, everyone now has a new budget of 10.500$! Use the extra 500$ wisely to defend your position or catch up!

    Round Results & Standings
    Race Points
    Mini-League Results

    Round Results & Standings

    We had to arrive to the 2014 FSR Fantasy League's seventh round before finding a round winner who had already won previous rounds. The first 2014 round winner, Danny van der Niet, from the Netherlands, scored 78 points to win his second round of the season. His Toofast Racing team, composed by Martin Gosbee, Rob van Starkenburg, Ivar Kalamees and Matt Sentell, did not feature race winner Bono Huis. With a very similar lineup and the same team cost, Great Britain's Jonathan Holmes took 2nd place, also on 78 points. In a situation very similar to the one of the opening round, the key difference was his pick of Ivar Kalamees for his Team A, while van der Niet selected Martin Gosbee instead. This allowed him to score 3 more Team A points which gave him the exclusive round victory, after the second tie-breaker criterion was applied! Mladen Volf, from Croatia, was 3rd on 72 points, in only his second FSR Fantasy League round.

    Despite only placing 21st in this round, Great Britain's Fred Gosling remains at the lead of the standings, in the battle for the Thrustmaster Y-250C Gaming Headset, with 468 points. He has increased the gap to fellow countryman James Sadler, who was only 52nd, to 18 points. Spaniard David Dominguez remains 3rd on the standings, on 439 points. With 9 contestants in less than 50 points, the final two rounds will be a thrilling competition! Who will become the 2014 FSR Fantasy League champion?

    Danny van der Niet earns a second chance for the other Thrustmaster Y-250C Gaming Headset that will be drawn among all round winners at the end of the season. The other contenders are Carlos Martin, Muhammed Patel, Liam Lagana, James Sadler and Giuseppe Marconi.

    Driver Results

    Making the best out of Morgan Morand's disconnection to reduce the championship gap to just 10 points, Bono Huis has won his second race of the season to become the round's top scorer on 38 points. 2nd-placed driver Martin Gosbee was the round's 2nd scorer on 28 points, while Ivar Kalamees' drive, after climbing from 12th to 4th, gave him 3rd on the list with 25 points.

    After seven rounds, Morgan Morand and Bono Huis remain the 2014 FSR Fantasy League's top scorers with 239 and 204 points respectively. Ivar Kalamees remains in 3rd place on the list with 147 points.

    Drivers' market costs were updated. Martin Gosbee (+100$), Petar Brljak (+100$), David Greco (+100$), Eros Masciulli (+100$) and Antonio Kolarec (+100$) were the drivers who climbed the costs ladder the most. Remember that the drivers that you already have on your team will continue to cost you what they did when you included them on your lineup.

    Official Mini-Leagues
    • Drivers Challenge: Overall round winner Danny van der Niet took his second Mini-League victory on 78 points, ahead of Marcel van der Linden (52 points) and John-Eric Saxen (49 points). John-Eric Saxen remains the Mini-League's leader, on 427 points.

    • Team Managers Challenge: Ernesto De Angelis (Crown7NetRex, 69 points) took his third Mini-League victory, ahead of Kris Cobb (Avid Chronic Racing, 53 points) and David Dominguez (Twister-Racing, 49 points). David Dominguez remains at the top of the standings with 439 points.

    • Administrators Challenge: Broadcast Director Sam Jones took his first win in this Mini-League, taking the round with 59 points. Ace Race Director Kris Cobb was 2nd on 53 points, while ISR Club Vice-President David Dominguez was 3rd on 49 points. David Dominguez continues to lead the Mini-League with 439 points.

    • Round Winners Challenge: Overall round winner Danny van der Niet took his first Mini-League victory with 78 points, with Jonathan Holmes sharing the same score in 2nd. Sam Jones was 3rd on 59 points. Overall leader Fred Gosling remains at the top of the standings with 468 points.

    Share your Performances!

    If you are proud of your result on the seventh round of the 2014 FSR Fantasy League, remember you can share your achievements with your Facebook friends and Twitter followers by pressing the Facebook/Twitter icons in your My Team page!

    Feel free to discuss your performance in the round in this thread. Do you think you have picked the right drivers for your team? Any regrets on your lineup? Are you happy with the transfers/swaps you made for this round? Do you already have your next team changes planned? Did your drivers perform as expected at Melbourne? Let us know!

    Next Round

    The eighth and penultimate round of the 2014 FSR Fantasy League will be the Japanese GP on October 5th. Remember to perform the driver transfers and swaps you need to become the next round winner! Only 2 rounds remaining!