Windows VR

Hi all, I have been considering jumping I to BE lately, and was thinking I was going to get an Oculus.

Over the last day I have been reading up on the new Windows 10 VR headsets that will start to come out over the next couple weeks. They definitely sound enticing. They all have higher resolution, inside out tracking so no external sensors are needed, needs lesser PC specs, and are cheaper.

Microsoft have announced that they are releasing an OpenVR driver, and that by the holidays all the windows headsets will be Steam VR compatible.

I have no experience with VR, so I have no idea if this means they will work with all our favorite sims or not. Please let me know if they will, as if that is the case I might hold off a bit and see what the reviews for these new headsets are like.

Once these Microsoft headsets get SteamVR support then they will work with all sim titles with SteamVR support. The lower system requirements are misleading, games demand GPU horsepower, it won't make sim titles run any better. Sim racing in VR is the most demanding of them all.

The higher resolution is a marginal improvement and from what I've read there isn't a perceivable difference between the Rift and Vive. Also the FOV is lower, except for the Samsung Odyssey. So that's the one to keep an eye on.

Upvote 0
Once these Microsoft headsets get SteamVR support then they will work with all sim titles with SteamVR support. The lower system requirements are misleading, games demand GPU horsepower, it won't make sim titles run any better. Sim racing in VR is the most demanding of them all.

The higher resolution is a marginal improvement and from what I've read there isn't a perceivable difference between the Rift and Vive. Also the FOV is lower, except for the Samsung Odyssey. So that's the one to keep an eye on.