• "Bwoah." - Generic Kimi Quotes.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. There's no such thing as a stupid question.

Win7 SP1

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Craig Stevenson, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. Craig Stevenson

    Craig Stevenson

    Messages:
    918
    Ratings:
    +140
  2. Ries Notenboom

    Ries Notenboom

    Messages:
    584
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ye got it, reinstalled win7 today on a SSD drive and seen the update amongst the 100's of others lol.

    Gonna have a look what good can have come form it.
     
  3. Jim Cole

    Jim Cole
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,703
    Ratings:
    +122
    SP1 should make all the older updates obsolete. This would mean just download SP1 and you should not have to download all the other 100+ updates :)
     
  4. Peter

    Peter
    who cares Premium

    Messages:
    1,723
    Ratings:
    +667
  5. Paul Hamwa

    Paul Hamwa

    Messages:
    617
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a quick note, I just spent the last day and a half with this frickin SP1.

    If you ever used Driver Sweeper there's a slight chance you won't be able to install SP1 if it erased a few essential windows files related to ATI. Here's what I did in case anyone else has this problem. I did Option 3,

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=338607

    And if you still can't install

    http://forum.phyxion.net/viewtopic.php?pid=99#p99

    Pay particular attention to the comments section on the bottom with a post from "Cantoris"
    17-02-2011 02:18:38

    If I can save just one person from this SP1 hell...:tongue:
     
  6. Jim Cole

    Jim Cole
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,703
    Ratings:
    +122
    Have to love those little programs like driver sweeper. They are nice, and handy, but how well were they really programmed? :)
     
  7. Craig Stevenson

    Craig Stevenson

    Messages:
    918
    Ratings:
    +140
    I don't trust any of those programs in auto mode, if I were to use one it would be in manual mode so I could confirm what was being deleted\changed. Interesting that Paul seems to be blaming MS or SP1 when the problem is caused by Driver Sweeper.
     
  8. Paul Hamwa

    Paul Hamwa

    Messages:
    617
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wasn't blaming MS or SP1. You're right I should have said "Driver Sweeper" hell :wink:

    In regards to auto mode etc, sorry we're all not as proficient as you. I was only trying to save someone the hassle...
     
  9. Dominant1

    Dominant1

    Messages:
    63
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had Windows 7 sp1 for some time now i wonder why it came out again...
     
  10. Craig Stevenson

    Craig Stevenson

    Messages:
    918
    Ratings:
    +140
    So you've had the Beta or leaked RTM?
     
  11. Dominant1

    Dominant1

    Messages:
    63
    Ratings:
    +0
    no i was wrong i don't have it but it refuses to install with windows update. i get an error message 80200053 gonna see why at Microsoft's site.....
     
  12. Dominant1

    Dominant1

    Messages:
    63
    Ratings:
    +0
    i found a fix and got sp1 installed....
     
  13. Abdul Al-Amry

    Abdul Al-Amry
    2011 RD Indy 500 Winner

    Messages:
    2,298
    Ratings:
    +19
    Any known side effects with this update for us gamers?
     
  14. Dominant1

    Dominant1

    Messages:
    63
    Ratings:
    +0
    No i was gaming all day after the install no issues.....iracing and f1 2010...
     
  15. Craig Stevenson

    Craig Stevenson

    Messages:
    918
    Ratings:
    +140
    I've not come across any issues..............so far, kinda surprising as Service Packs have tended to cause a few headaches for people. I've used Windows since V3.0 and IMO Win 7 has probably been the best and most stable version to date, as a result I don't think this Service Pack is anything like as major an upgrade as previous incarnations, I haven't looked at the change log though.

    What was the problem mate and how did you fix it?, I thought that error code related to .NET issues?

    Regards
     
  16. Dominant1

    Dominant1

    Messages:
    63
    Ratings:
    +0
    every time i downloaded it gave an error so i googled the error #80200053, it lead me to a fix inside windows.. i didn't save the fix ...lol sorry but it worked, something that allows windows to evaluate windows update by scanning it, then it said it found the problem and fixed it...trying to remember and locate the fix...
     
  17. Dominant1

    Dominant1

    Messages:
    63
    Ratings:
    +0