• "Mwoah" - Kimi Räikkönen
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dear Guest. Follow RaceDepartment on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Twitch, Steam and YouTube.

What happened to my WTCC 2010???

Discussion in 'RACE 07 - Official WTCC Game' started by FerrariMan96, Oct 8, 2011.

  1. FerrariMan96

    FerrariMan96

    Messages:
    1,072
    Ratings:
    +134
    When I booted up Steam and opened up my Games Library this morning, Steam said that I hadn't downloaded the WTCC 2010 eexpansion pack (even though I have???). Has anyone else had this issue? I can download it again, but it's a pretty large file...

    FM96
     
  2. Mike Sterckx

    Mike Sterckx

    Messages:
    739
    Ratings:
    +510
    Yup, had the exact same thing yesterday. Had to download it again.
     
  3. 4 8 15 16 23 42 108

    4 8 15 16 23 42 108
    Only the 5th-most famous race driver from Kerpen Premium

    Messages:
    1,897
    Ratings:
    +551
    Interesting:-O
    Mine is missing as well. Have a backup, so no big trouble. Hopefully, it has no re-install issues caused by whatever...
     
  4. Ross Garland

    Ross Garland
    R3E & AMS Club Manager Staff Premium

    Messages:
    5,995
    Ratings:
    +2,383
    Yep, just fired up Steam and it's saying that I don't have WTCC 10 installed either. Confirmed that the cars/tracks have disappeared from the game. Very odd...
     
  5. Peter

    Peter
    who cares Premium

    Messages:
    1,725
    Ratings:
    +666
    I'm glad that I'm not alone.

    Started Race 07 this morning no Wtcc2010, I have a back up but the files are the same. i also hat to redownload and this file

    ''race 07_exp_mosquitopack5.gcf'' is extra now.

    ''wtcc 2010 race 07_exp_mosquitopack5.gcf'' this file is the old one and the same size.
     
  6. Rupe Wilson

    Rupe Wilson
    rFactor Senior Club Manager Staff Premium

    Messages:
    15,888
    Ratings:
    +6,672
    Ive had it a few times also FRR and STCC2, ithought it was just my machine..
     
  7. Ross Garland

    Ross Garland
    R3E & AMS Club Manager Staff Premium

    Messages:
    5,995
    Ratings:
    +2,383
    Lol... so they changed the name of a file and it requires everyone to re-download? I bet people with monthly bandwidth limits and/or slow connections won't be too impressed by that. :rolleyes:
     
  8. Rupe Wilson

    Rupe Wilson
    rFactor Senior Club Manager Staff Premium

    Messages:
    15,888
    Ratings:
    +6,672
    I was hopeing it was something to do with the smoke effects,
     
  9. Peter

    Peter
    who cares Premium

    Messages:
    1,725
    Ratings:
    +666
    Maybe it's possible to re-name the file.
     
  10. 4 8 15 16 23 42 108

    4 8 15 16 23 42 108
    Only the 5th-most famous race driver from Kerpen Premium

    Messages:
    1,897
    Ratings:
    +551
    Yup, that's the trick! Just renamed it and whoops, it's showing up in Steam as installed, starting through its icon and in-game cars and tracks are there.
    My opinion, Valve or Simbin should've named it that way right from the start. Guess what, in some weeks maybe they come to a clue: There is still FROG2 left^^

    Btw., ugly way to neglect customers: No information at all?!? A simple "rename-patch" would've done this for sure?

    EDIT:
    Fine:mad: I have to re-backup my DL DVD (everything except RACE07 itself i believe)? Nope, will install it and rename it afterwards. Hope it will install:mad:
     
  11. Ross Garland

    Ross Garland
    R3E & AMS Club Manager Staff Premium

    Messages:
    5,995
    Ratings:
    +2,383
    That is something which affects the whole game, not just WTCC 2010. Changing it would involve a regular patch.
     
  12. FerrariMan96

    FerrariMan96

    Messages:
    1,072
    Ratings:
    +134
    Well, I'm glad to know that I'm not alone and that it was not something on my end :)

    I will try the renaming thing.

    FM96
     
  13. Bram Hengeveld

    Bram Hengeveld
    Administrator Staff Premium

    Messages:
    42,605
    Ratings:
    +16,519
    Maybe this was done to avoid pirates from playing online? Probably with a new file name they get kicked from the server :)

    Not sure if that's the case. A little communication would have been nice indeed.
     
  14. FerrariMan96

    FerrariMan96

    Messages:
    1,072
    Ratings:
    +134
    More on this...

    Renaming worked. For those who wish to solve the issue:
    1. Make sure that Steam is closed - not just the window. I don't know about Windows XP/7 but on Vista when you close the Steam window the program keeps running - you can see it in the task bar in the bottom-right corner. To close Steam completely, click on the Steam icon in the task bar and select the "Exit" option.
    2. Navigate to your "SteamApps" Folder. It should be located at "C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps" or similar.
    3. If you have already started the WTCC 2010 re-download, you need to pay attention to this instruction. If not, skip to Step 4. If you have started the re-download, you will already have a file named "race 07_exp_mosquitopack5.gcf". This can probably be deleted, but to be safe, just rename it to something like "BAK_race 07_exp_mosquitopack5.BAK".
    4. Assuming you have already downloaded/installed the WTCC 2010 Expansion Pack before, you should have a file named "wtcc 2010 race 07_exp_mosquitopack5.gcf". Rename this to "race 07_exp_mosquitopack5.gcf", making sure that when you delete the "wtcc 2010" part that you also delete the space that follows.
    5. Restart Steam (Online mode may or may not be required - I used online mode) and navigate to the Library.
    6. Select "The WTCC 2010 Pack" - even if Steam says "Download Paused" or anything like that - and click on the "Play" button. I used the WTCC 2010 launcher so I am not sure if it will work on the first attempt with a launch from one of the other options.
    7. Go Racing!
    Hopefully this helps!

    FM96