• "I've tried everything other than jumping out of a plane, but nothing gives you an adrenaline rush like racing a car." - Nigel Mansell
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Updating other copies of GSCE

Discussion in 'Stock Car Extreme' started by mkel1966, Dec 17, 2015.

  1. mkel1966

    mkel1966

    Messages:
    181
    Ratings:
    +23
    I've read you can make multiple copies of this game. A vanilla copy, modded copy and one for testing mods. Do they all get updated automatically? If not, how do you update the other two even if on another hdd?
     
  2. JeffL

    JeffL
    Right on Brother, I hear ya, it's all good.

    Messages:
    1,958
    Ratings:
    +853
    One way is to hit the gsynce.exe that is in each installs main directory.
     
  3. mkel1966

    mkel1966

    Messages:
    181
    Ratings:
    +23
    Appreciate the quick response. Thank you.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. mkel1966

    mkel1966

    Messages:
    181
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hi Jeffl,, I forgot to mention that my gsce is from steam. I didn't see the gsync application when I open the game folder. Is there a different way?
     
  5. JeffL

    JeffL
    Right on Brother, I hear ya, it's all good.

    Messages:
    1,958
    Ratings:
    +853
    hmmmmm, I didn't do the steam route , maybe someone else can help.:)
     
  6. mkel1966

    mkel1966

    Messages:
    181
    Ratings:
    +23
    I was trying to find a solution online but with no luck. Thanks though.
     
  7. JeffL

    JeffL
    Right on Brother, I hear ya, it's all good.

    Messages:
    1,958
    Ratings:
    +853
    Can you just copy and paste each install to the steam location and update. Maybe a little time consuming but it might be an option. Shrug:unsure:
     
  8. mkel1966

    mkel1966

    Messages:
    181
    Ratings:
    +23
    That's what I'm going to try. I will let you know if it works.
     
  9. mkel1966

    mkel1966

    Messages:
    181
    Ratings:
    +23
    Edit:
    Yup,, it doesn't work. I don't think there's a way if you have the steam version.:(
     
  10. William Wester

    William Wester
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,129
    Ratings:
    +379
    Yeah, I think if you started with a Steam purchase/key you won't be able to manage more than one unique install.
    You may be able to still purchase a non-steam license, then you would have that installation to manage other copies for mods and testing.
     
  11. roby13

    roby13

    Messages:
    360
    Ratings:
    +44
    aha! can someone confirm this?
     
  12. William Wester

    William Wester
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,129
    Ratings:
    +379
    Not sure if option 2 works but this is what I was referring to.

    upload_2015-12-21_12-16-7.png
     
  13. mkel1966

    mkel1966

    Messages:
    181
    Ratings:
    +23
    That's an idea. You just have to install-reinstall the trial version for the mods you have to try out if it really works plus if it updates too. I will try this when the new Reiza game comes out. I don't know how many times I've reinstalled/reverified gsce:rolleyes:. I just finished installing the blancpain mod and changed the values inside the folders to look clean. There's a lot of drivers for this mod to add for your own pit strategies,whewww, but got it done. I will enjoy this tomorrow:D.
     
  14. mkel1966

    mkel1966

    Messages:
    181
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hey guys,, have anyone tried a program called "Jonesoft Generic Mod Enabler"? I think this could be the answer to any game version from Steam. I just read about this in the F1 forum. You can turn off mods if you play online so it won't have any mismatch. Could be good for the upcoming Reiza game. I will surely take a look at this.