• "Mwoah" - Kimi Räikkönen
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dear Guest. Follow RaceDepartment on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Twitch, Steam and YouTube.

Tyres

Discussion in 'Assetto Corsa' started by AlexF11989, May 21, 2017.

  1. AlexF11989

    AlexF11989

    Messages:
    10
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys i have a problem. I extracted the files from data.acd but when i go to open the file tyres.ini is written the Chinese type. How to solve? Thanks :)
     
  2. garyjpaterson

    garyjpaterson

    Messages:
    1,262
    Ratings:
    +2,251
    I think google translate does well with Chinese, why not give that a go?
     
    • Haha Haha x 4
    • Sad Sad x 2
    • Love Love x 1
  3. RasmusP

    RasmusP
    AC Stuff and G27 help Staff Premium

    Messages:
    1,961
    Ratings:
    +731
    Try to open it with Notepad++ (very good program for opening any types of ini, lut, source code etc!)
    If you still see "kaudawelsch" (chinese) then the decryption wasn't successful :(
     
  4. HypoToad

    HypoToad

    Messages:
    281
    Ratings:
    +50
    I think it only happens on some cars, but I just avoid those cars, which doesn't help you.

    On a side note if you want your car to have more or less grip simply change the width of the tyres.
     
  5. garyjpaterson

    garyjpaterson

    Messages:
    1,262
    Ratings:
    +2,251
    Nothing in these statements are correct.

    In AC, tyre width (or diameter which also would influence contact patch size) makes any difference to 'grip', they are simply used to make the skid mark texture the correct size.

    Anyway, no need to be extracting any of Kunos' files for tyres, since most are readily available in the Dev folder for you to use.
     
  6. HypoToad

    HypoToad

    Messages:
    281
    Ratings:
    +50
    Hmm, I must be imagining it then, I changed the tyre widths and the got much better lap times, will take another look thanks. You are right, it must have given me more confidence.

    To use the tyre files you need to extract the data.acd file and make a data directory, but for some reason people are complaining the newer ones use different encryption as all the data in the files is corrupted.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2017
  7. garyjpaterson

    garyjpaterson

    Messages:
    1,262
    Ratings:
    +2,251
    I can't check right now, but you do not need to decrypt the data.acd's to get to the tyre files, they are made public in the DEV section of the assettocorsa folder.

    And yes you are definitely feeling the full effects of the placebo regarding tyre widths...
     
  8. HypoToad

    HypoToad

    Messages:
    281
    Ratings:
    +50
    They may be public but how do you use them if the data.acd files are all corrupted in the extraction process?
     
  9. garyjpaterson

    garyjpaterson

    Messages:
    1,262
    Ratings:
    +2,251
    Because you're not supposed to be extracting them at all, the tyres that are made public can be used without extracting anything. You just paste them into your data folder and it all works fine.

    If you're trying to modify tyres for Kunos cars rather than your own mod, then I can't help you there.
     
  10. AlexF11989

    AlexF11989

    Messages:
    10
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excuse ignorance, can any of you know how to change tire grip levels? thank you so much
     
  11. HypoToad

    HypoToad

    Messages:
    281
    Ratings:
    +50
    We are talking about different things, if you take a car, that only has the compressed data.acd file and no data folder you need to extract the data.acd file to make the data folder. Extracting the compressed data file to make the data folder is where the OP is screwing up.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2017
  12. garyjpaterson

    garyjpaterson

    Messages:
    1,262
    Ratings:
    +2,251
    Cars which only have a data.acd are encrypted for a reason. There should be no need to be messing with those files.

    If you want to mess with tyres for your own mods, then the files are public and you are welcome to do so. If you want to mess with tyres on Kunos cars, then you'll have to figure it out yourself.
     
  13. HypoToad

    HypoToad

    Messages:
    281
    Ratings:
    +50
    But to me that's a red rag to a bull, it makes me more determined to see what they are hiding in there.

    But seriously the tyre files are so convoluted all I can do is swap tyres from one car to another, like from version 7 to version 10 that's why I like to decrypt them.

    And I suspect that the OP didn't follow the instructions in quickbms where the folder name of the car is the encryption key, change that and it messes all the files up.
     
  14. Stereo

    Stereo

    Messages:
    2,406
    Ratings:
    +1,457
    It's just part of licensing negotiation, they say "data you give us will be encrypted" and manufacturers agree to give them more. Mess with that and you'll just end up with future official content working with less real data.

    Tires in particular are not really part of it (hence being available in a folder) I guess it lags a bit behind official release so Aris can edit out all the swearing comments when a car refuses to drive well on reasonable tires.