• "Slow and steady finishes the race. Fast and steady wins the race." - Sean Rogers.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trucks' shadows, then wheels, disappear in the distance

Discussion in 'Formula Truck 2013' started by Billy Pilgrim, Apr 13, 2015.

  1. Billy Pilgrim

    Billy Pilgrim

    Messages:
    645
    Ratings:
    +95
    Hi
    Just started playing Formula Truck.

    I notice that when trucks are far ahead, in the distance, that their shadows, then their wheels, disappear. It's quite off-putting.

    Is there a fix for that? (My computer's powerful enough to handle more processing.)
     
  2. hex

    hex

    Messages:
    410
    Ratings:
    +153
    Sounds like a common LOD (Level of Detail) behavior. I have never been bothered by it as it's almost unnoticeable - I'm guessing you have pretty huge monitor :p
    Just in case: do you have every graphical setting on max?
     
  3. Billy Pilgrim

    Billy Pilgrim

    Messages:
    645
    Ratings:
    +95
    Thanks for your reply. I have quite large monitors, yes (and I'm sat close to them too). And every graphical setting on max (i'll check this just in case I missed something). Do you know a way of changing this LOD behaviour?
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2015
  4. Ian Anderson

    Ian Anderson

    Messages:
    39
    Ratings:
    +2
    Did you ever find away to sort it out?
     
  5. Billy Pilgrim

    Billy Pilgrim

    Messages:
    645
    Ratings:
    +95
  6. Jim van Sickle

    Jim van Sickle
    Sit down, Shut up & Hang on for the ride!

    Messages:
    26
    Ratings:
    +3
    email Reiza
     
  7. Billy Pilgrim

    Billy Pilgrim

    Messages:
    645
    Ratings:
    +95
    I'm sure they've seen this thread.
     
  8. Gringo

    Gringo
    Premium

    Messages:
    716
    Ratings:
    +389
    Yes you can increase the LOD multiplyer for any camera you want. I assume you are talking about your view from the drivers cockpit.

    Look for this file "FTruck2013_Cams.cam" in "Formula Truck 2013\Gamedata\Vehicles\FTruck2013"

    Code:
    LocalCam=COCKPIT
    {
      Fov=(50.000000, 50.000000)
      Clear=TRUE
      Color=(164, 218, 249)
      ClipPlanes=(0.075000, 500.000000)
      LODMultiplier=(1.000000)
      Size=(1.000000, 1.000000)
      Center=(0.500000, 0.500000)
      MipmapLODBias=(0.000000)
      Flags1=(0)
      Flags2=(0)
      RadiusLimits=(0.000000, 0.000000)
      OrientationRate=(999.000000, 999.000000, 999.000000)
      PositionOffset=(0.000000, -0.0, 0.0000)
      OrientationOffset=(0.00000, 0.000000, 0.000000)
      Radius=(0.000000)
    }

    Change LODMultiplier=(1.000000) to LODMultiplier=(2.000000)

    Keep in mine you will take a performance hit but if you have the hardware it should be no problem.
     
    • Beer Beer x 1
  9. Billy Pilgrim

    Billy Pilgrim

    Messages:
    645
    Ratings:
    +95
    Great advice! Thanks a lot. I'll try it out as soon as I get back to my PC.
     
  10. Ian Anderson

    Ian Anderson

    Messages:
    39
    Ratings:
    +2
    Did it work?