1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. #GiveAwayFriday. Win a copy of F1 2017 - The Game. Click here to join.

Trackmap plugin Still not working

Discussion in 'rFactor 2' started by Killrathy, Jan 7, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Killrathy

    Killrathy

    Messages:
    15
    Ratings:
    +2
    So if at all possible Ide love some help troubleshooting this issue.
    I am sure I have everything installed in the correct folders.
    I have installed the redistributables for x32 and x64. I uninstalled them and ran them as admin also. the game crashes everytime. I figured out if i remove the d3d9.dll from the x64 bin file and it launches but the plugin doesnt work. I have no idea how to fix whatevers messing up the connection between the Redistro and the .dll file.
     
  2. Killrathy

    Killrathy

    Messages:
    15
    Ratings:
    +2
    Im running win 10 64 bit.
    Steam version fresh install
     
  3. Ace King

    Ace King

    Messages:
    365
    Ratings:
    +68
    Assuming a 64 bit system:
    Your Bin64 Plugin directory should have a TrapMapPlugin_64.dll plus rF2's main Plugins should have a TrackMap directory with four folders: Docs, Images, Redistributable, Tracks.

    Note: In the TrackMap directory make sure there is four trackmap files, plus a KM.txt, GIDkeyboard.exe, d3d9.log.txt Also, the d3d9.dll needs to be in your Bin64 directory.

    rF's "Options" be sure your TrackMap plugins is "On" & if not then turn On and restart rF to take effect.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2017
  4. Killrathy

    Killrathy

    Messages:
    15
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have triple checked. the newest version is just copy and paste into the root directory. the only thing i can find on this is if it crashes its because you need the redistributable. I have installed it with administrative permissions.
     
  5. Killrathy

    Killrathy

    Messages:
    15
    Ratings:
    +2
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. alexSchmurtz

    alexSchmurtz
    SpeedyMite Racing Staff Premium

    Messages:
    2,192
    Ratings:
    +1,260
    I'm still on Windows7 but got trouble to get the plugin to show. When you download the plugin, there is a link to download the 2012 version of redistributables for x32 and x64. I ran them but that was not enough in my case.

    After installing the plugin, in ...\steamapps\common\rFactor 2\Plugins\TrackMap\Redistributable there are also 2 exes. They have the same names as the one you can download, but there are the 2013 versions! And my machine needed them obviously: after running them too, the plugin worked.

    Again, this is on Windows7 but maybe worth a try in your case?
     
  7. Killrathy

    Killrathy

    Messages:
    15
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have also tried the 2012 and 2013 redistributables.
     
    • Sad Sad x 1
  8. Ace King

    Ace King

    Messages:
    365
    Ratings:
    +68
    It's possible that the TrackMap Plugin has a compatibility issue with Win10.
    Would be interesting to know if other Win10 users have issues and the author's opinion!
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2017
  9. Jerry McComas

    Jerry McComas

    Messages:
    13
    Ratings:
    +2
    I use win10 and trackmap without problems. I never had to specifically update distributables for it beyond those mentioned. I sometimes use several other plugins with no problem other that sweetfx which doesn't work with TMap. I have used all the std plugins that come with rF2, plus deltabest, relativetime, curs-o-radar, and realheadmotion along with trackmap with no problems.

    I went through your video and didn't see anything different from mine relative to the trackmap files.

    I imagine you've already done this, but go to the docs folder and open the readme_leggimi_0.96.txt and be sure everything that should be deleted has been.

    Sorry you're having problems, but I don't know what else would conflict with TMap.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Ace King

    Ace King

    Messages:
    365
    Ratings:
    +68
    Good to know Win10 users have no issues!.

    I use Win7 and my TrackMap worked perfectly before my transfer to Steam then after reinstalling TrackMap it didn't work until i once again installed The "LATEST" Visual C++ Redistributable Package for BOTH 32 AND 64 BIT so now it all works Great.

    INSTALL BOTH Microsoft VC Runtime Library "vcredist_x86" and "vcredist_x64" "BEFORE" Running The TrackMap plugin, Mandatory for Plugin Working!
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2017
  11. Jerry McComas

    Jerry McComas

    Messages:
    13
    Ratings:
    +2
    So ... is it working now?
     
  12. Ace King

    Ace King

    Messages:
    365
    Ratings:
    +68
    Don't think Killrathy got Trackmap working but mine is working great.
     
  13. Killrathy

    Killrathy

    Messages:
    15
    Ratings:
    +2
    no sir and i have no other plugins.
     
  14. Jerry McComas

    Jerry McComas

    Messages:
    13
    Ratings:
    +2
    Killrathy,

    Ok, maybe my last crazy idea. I recall that many years ago, some users of the original trackmap in rF1, couldn't get it work and it would crash rF1. The amazing author of the rF1 & rF2 plugins, fazerbox, (who doesn't seem to be around anymore), said this on rfactorcentral.com:

    a)Many people that have experienced crash or bugs have resolved it after having installed ".NET Framework 3.5"
    I don't Know Why, I don't use it in Plugin, but seems Plugin needs .NET Framework 3.5.
    If people Experience Bugs or Crash, please download and install
    ".NET Framework 3.5" from Microsoft site.

    I think .Net Framework is up to version 4.5 or greater now. I don't know what you have, or really what I have. "Maybe" that is still an issue. Never heard of this with rF2, but ... just a thought. I don't think installing it would hurt anything.