1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
Like RaceDepartment on Facebook.

To Wheel or not To Wheel

Discussion in 'Gran Turismo 5' started by Perrie Hintz, Dec 9, 2010.

1. I have played Turismo right from 1 and have always used the dualshock controller, mainly for convenience and familiarity.
    I have tried wheels from time to time and found that the complete lack of tactile feedback apart from a bit of vibration and wobbling over bumps made them feel unnatural and frustrating to use.
    I would like to know exactly what benefits a wheel would have over the controller and which one would the best to get.
    Keep in mind that I am an australian driver so any wheel that has a gearshift on the right side is completely useless to me.

2. If you can drive comfortably with the controller then you may not gain much if you get a wheel. On the other hand if you are like me and get absolutely frustrated with the controller and can not drive with it at all you will be much faster and have much more fun with a wheel.

What I gained from moving from controller to wheel were:
    - consistancy. I can drive the track like I am trying to do. With pad it was hit a or miss for every corner.
    - precision. I can put the car where I want on the track
    - speed. I'm much faster with a wheel than with a controller and it is also a lot easier to drive
    - more fun. Driving with pad was just frustrating. Driving with wheel is rewarding.
    - better sense of everything that the car is doing. Understeer, oversteer, braking, accelerating, corrections all are easier, more natural and more fun with a wheel.

I have the fanatec 911 s wheel myself and it is not exactly a cheap alternative to a controller. But personally I couldn't play the gt5 or forza3 with a controller so I have no choise :).