Tips for new users?

hi all,

i am new to BTB and would like to ask if anybody can give some tips on how to go about to design a track. maybe break it down in phases and give tips on the phases? e.g. use GE to plot (which i have learned to do after many hours of surfing the net) but use as many/ little as possible nodes; first complete the track width then cambers; complete the track in FULL before starting with terrain) ect.; ect.; ect.
i have spent many hours on my first track (for GTR2) but progress is slow and in fact i have started over from scratch many times - as there is no "rule book" on the possible best way to do it:frown:.

a short list of suggestions of how to go about the designing of a track will help so much!

many thanks,
stadow

General tip: don't forget to look into the contextual (right-click) and other 'hidden' menus. And to smooth corners, there is a tool for that in such a menu. Also, you can select and plant or delete large numbers of trees in one go (can save lots of work if you're trying to do it piece by piece).

first tip ide give anyone is first watch all the piddy vids.. watch`em twice if you have to ... although he only scratches the surface of whats possible with btb.. its really good for someone who is just starting out.

http://www.youtube.com/user/Piddy555

there's other tuts out there too, but I think piddy dose a great job.

are you talking specificity about creating your own track, or recreating an already existing real track?

First of all - ask questions and you will get answers :) I found this community as very friendly and helpful - and have never met anybody who would act wiser than others. Try to read threads/posts too - you may find many interesting ideas "how to" and "what for" before you even think of problems :)
And experiment, try different things - but on small projects - there's nothing worse that tons of object/polygons/vertices etc. to correct because of unconcious mistakes we did before ;)