T3PA plastic base durability - problem with Wheel Stand Pro

I’ve got some stupid question but since a lot of people there are building their sim rigs on custom frames or even create whole amazing cockpits etc. perhaps I’ll get an answer :)

I’ve got Wheel Stand Pro V2 and I’d like to store it in folded position, like on the picture below. Un)fortunately, since I own basic V2 version - which is shorter - in my case horizontal tube doesn’t rest on the brake pedal, but on the edge of the pedals base.

I’m afraid that the wheel base can eventually break up because of high spot pressure. Have you any idea how to protect it?
I'm not good at physics, but I was thinking of some way to spread the pressure over a larger area. Could putting a spare metal plates from the stand on top of the base be a solution? (they are a bit resilient, but when laid one on top of the other they are stiffer) Perhaps should I put some rubber spacers underneath the plates? Should I then put a spacer underneath the horizontal tube or rather avoid it to not transfer the load directly to the base?

Fold_T3PA_Deluxe_V2_cr.jpg
Wheel Stand Mod 1_cr.jpg
Wheel Stand Mod 2_cr.jpg

Last edited:
My best solution would be drill thru the front most pivot point and have removable locking pins hold the wheel stand a few MM above the pedal base.

My picture here shows horizontal but vertical would probably be better.

If you were to do this, I would suggest drilling completely thru both sides and have the pins long enough to pass thru both sides.

Even with spreading out the force across the entirety of the pedals, I would still have the same concerns you have now. It might just prolong the inevitable.

Another idea I have is a hinged support that pivots just under the wheel base. Velcro or whatever could hold it in place while the wheel stand is in use.

Attachments

• Fold_T3PA_Deluxe_V2_cr.jpg
    88.7 KB · Views: 29
  • Fold_T3PA_Deluxe_V2_cr.jpg
    90.9 KB · Views: 32
Last edited: