• "Bite off more than you can chew and then chew like hell." - Peter Brock
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Steering Wheel Setup Problem

Discussion in 'F1 2012 - The Game' started by Chris, Sep 14, 2012.

  1. Chris

    Chris
    Ted Kravitz Appreciation Society Staff Premium

    Messages:
    9,186
    Ratings:
    +5,636
    Hi guys,

    I've got an problem with the setup of my wheel. I dont know what is wrong with it, because it happened in F1 2011 as well.

    Here's what happens:

    - Boot the game, and setup my wheel. And play for as long as i want.
    - Then when i take a break and come back, and boot up the game again.
    - And the setup screen for my wheel will say "Custom", which is fine, because it has saved my setup... but..
    - When i get out on track, the steering is incredibly heavy, and extremely hard to turn into corners. Even though it has used the same setup as when i last played.

    So, to fix this, what i have to do is, go into the setup screen, and set the "Custom" to my wheel ("Thrustmaster GT Ferrari Experience"), and then set the wheel up all over again, with button mapping and dead zones / Saturations etc etc.

    And then once i've done that, it's back to normal.

    But i dont know why it does this. Has anyone experienced this before?

    P.S. If there's no apparent fix, then im happy to keep doing it everytime i open the game, lol coz i did it all through 2011. It's just an inconvenience.

    Cheers guys! Any help.advice would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Sasha Jednak

    Sasha Jednak

    Messages:
    1,995
    Ratings:
    +824
    I have that wheel too. Got that problem in 2011 but not now in demo. Could you try to set your wheel to be more sensitive then you would like, then quit and reboot the game. So if problem stays wheel setup will be just like you wish:) Sorry for not having any smarter way to help you.
     
  3. Chris

    Chris
    Ted Kravitz Appreciation Society Staff Premium

    Messages:
    9,186
    Ratings:
    +5,636
    Nah i've tried, that and it hasnt worked unfortunately. I've converted the wheel's xml file in the root folder to text, but i dont know what effect it will have if i edit some of the values.
     
  4. Chris

    Chris
    Ted Kravitz Appreciation Society Staff Premium

    Messages:
    9,186
    Ratings:
    +5,636
    Did the problem just go away for you with 2012?

    I got no idea how to fix it.
     
  5. Phobidamoon

    Phobidamoon

    Messages:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    Someone have a good wheel setup for this wheel? :(
     
  6. BBFred

    BBFred

    Messages:
    222
    Ratings:
    +61
    Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling your wheel driver? Possibly checking if there's a newer version on the TM support website?
     
  7. Rahul Paul

    Rahul Paul

    Messages:
    15
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the GTFE as well. I have part of the issue you describe. I have to remap the controls of the wheel every time I boot the game up since they keep going back to default. I do not have to remap the other parameters though.
    Try uninstalling the GTFE drivers first and then the game. Then - Reinstall the game first and then the drivers. See if that works.
     
  8. Jake Adams

    Jake Adams
    Premium

    Messages:
    226
    Ratings:
    +96
    This bug was in 2011 as well. What you have to do is set your whell up and play. The next time you start the game press enter on your keyboard to advance through the screens till you see the screen with the car and "Press Start". Dont press enter,you have to find a button on your wheel that coresponds to the start button on a controller. On my G25 its button 3. I just pressed all my buttons til I found it.Then your previous settings wil be loaded. Its weird I know.
     
  9. Chris

    Chris
    Ted Kravitz Appreciation Society Staff Premium

    Messages:
    9,186
    Ratings:
    +5,636
    Thanks! I'll give it a try
     
  10. Chris

    Chris
    Ted Kravitz Appreciation Society Staff Premium

    Messages:
    9,186
    Ratings:
    +5,636
    I've tried that. Didn't work. But thanks for the suggestion
     
  11. Chris

    Chris
    Ted Kravitz Appreciation Society Staff Premium

    Messages:
    9,186
    Ratings:
    +5,636
    Kk I just tried it, and it didn't work. But thanks anyway.
     
  12. Chris

    Chris
    Ted Kravitz Appreciation Society Staff Premium

    Messages:
    9,186
    Ratings:
    +5,636
    Good news! The patch #2 that was released a few hours ago has fixed my problem!

    Thank you for all your help.