PC1 Starting from 0, what do you recommend?

Hello forum,

So, I'm done with consoles and I really want to get into PC gaming but I am a complete noob.

I'm starting to do some research on a rig and found the Alienware X51, which seems appealing b/c it's ready to go, relatively affordable, and apparently customizable.

If I wanted to play Project C.A.R.S. at "max settings" or at a quality that's comparable to current consoles, what should I be looking out for in terms of specs? (Something that gives me good fps and good graphics)

For the $700 model X51 it's this:

Processor: i3-2120 3.3 GHz
Memory: Up to 8GB Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1333Mhz - 2 DIMMS
Video Card: 1GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 545
Sound Card: Internal High-Definition 7.1 Performance Audio with WAVES MAXX Audio (Standard)

I know these type of requests are annoying but I'd appreciate any help regarding this.

Well, back to Youtube to search Project C.A.R.S. videos like a junkie looking for his next fix.

Thanks

For pCARS I'd recommend a system with an i5 2500K and P67 or Z68 motherboard for overclocking, 8GB of DDR3 ram since its so cheap and any graphics card from the GTX460 or HD6850 and up. Buying the individual parts and building it yourself should save you some money.

No soldering needed and its really quite simple, youtube has lots of good guides. I built mine last summer as a complete noob and its still running fine.

Soundcard isn't really neccessary and best left out if on a budget. You will need an OS (Windoews 7 64bit) and of course a case (any will do really), HDD, disc drive and power supply (500 to 600W should be enough)

Yeah, I build mine too, it's cheaper. It's not hard if you have good components. There are good step-by-step guides in motherboard manuals. You can download a manual and look for yourself if you understand it. And OS installation in easy too. Almost automatic.

So I went on NewEgg.com and this is what I came up with:

cart.png