• "I've tried everything other than jumping out of a plane, but nothing gives you an adrenaline rush like racing a car." - Nigel Mansell
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spotter AddOn & Latest Update

Discussion in 'Automobilista' started by mkel1966, Mar 23, 2016.

  1. mkel1966

    mkel1966

    Messages:
    181
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hey guys..After the latest update the spotter addon doesn't work anymore and it crashes the game for me, don't know if it's because the userdata folder is now in C drive. I have tried different scenarios but couldn't make it work. Have any of you guys worked around with this?
     
  2. tpw

    tpw

    Messages:
    321
    Ratings:
    +123
    I had a few plugin issues that I solved by using mklink to make a link between the two locations.

    In my case, as I don't use UAC, my user data is still in steam\AMS\userdata. So I made a link to it in c:\users\me\documents\AMS\userdata. Plugins looking for data in either location will always be able to find it. Perhaps you could do the opposite and use mklink to make a link from c:\users\you\documents\AMS\userdata to steam\AMS\userdata.
     
  3. mkel1966

    mkel1966

    Messages:
    181
    Ratings:
    +23
    I will try your suggestion. Thanks.
    edit: I'm not really good with computer and I'm going to learn this as I go through it. If I want to revert back do I just delete the folder?
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2016
  4. tpw

    tpw

    Messages:
    321
    Ratings:
    +123
    Try this (obviously change the path names to suit):
    mklink /D "...\Steam\steamapps\common\AMS\userdata" "C:\Users\mkel1966\Documents\Automobilista\userdata"

    This will create a link to your AMS userdata in the AMS installation. But the data will still be in C:\Users\mkel1966\Documents\Automobilista\userdata as well. So plugins looking for userdata in either location will be able to find it. If you decide you don't want the link in the AMS installation, just delete it, it won't delete the original data in C:
     
  5. mkel1966

    mkel1966

    Messages:
    181
    Ratings:
    +23
    At first it gives me several errors, when I tried with admin privilages it gives me this - "c:\windows\system32>" -don't know where to go from there..went back to the first one with error message -"cannot link on same destination folder name"(somewhat, not sure), till I gave up on it. I remembered spotter plugin crashes the game for me as what I read other guys have the same problem, too. I'm just going to settle for the virtual rearview mirrors for now till the next update. Thank you very much for your help.
     
  6. BeefyPeeg

    BeefyPeeg

    Messages:
    27
    Ratings:
    +4
    I too have noticed this. Hoping for a fix soon, as I rather liked that plugin. :(
     
  7. gongo

    gongo

    Messages:
    94
    Ratings:
    +64
    Just make a copy of your userdata profile and it works fine. Either that or modify your spotter config ini file to point to the new location of the profile. No need to wait on any "fix".
     
  8. mkel1966

    mkel1966

    Messages:
    181
    Ratings:
    +23
    I have UAC on. I copied the userdata from C drive to AMS and the plugin still crashes the game for me:(.
     
  9. gongo

    gongo

    Messages:
    94
    Ratings:
    +64
    I don't know what to tell you, I've got UAC on too, just make sure that the config ini file in your Spotter folder is pointing to the correct location for the PLR file.
     
  10. mkel1966

    mkel1966

    Messages:
    181
    Ratings:
    +23
    If it's not too much to ask, could you upload a snapshot of what you change on which line? I tried to do it but, but I must say, I'm too old and stupid about this stuff. Don't really know how to do it:confused:.
    edit: Your other suggestion worked(which is easier for me:D). I copied just my file folder from C drive to AMS userdata. I'm a happy camper again. Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2016