• Racing is not a matter of life and death. It's much more important than that!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. There's no such thing as a stupid question.

Sound Card v. Sound on Motherboard

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by TR6speed, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. TR6speed

    TR6speed

    Messages:
    124
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R with the Realtek HD Audio. I did not install a sound card as I believed that this was all I would need. Up until I installed the new F1 2010 my sound has be fine. Have other racing games as well as all of the Call of Duty and Brothers in Arms and no problems. With the F1 2010, the sound is more of a reverb. I have been told to get the latest drivers, but I have also be told that if the sound is part of the motherboard that I shoud not download the drivers from Realtek. Is the true, or would it be ok to go to Realtek.
     
  2. Terry Rock

    Terry Rock

    Messages:
    888
    Ratings:
    +281
    Poppycock!.... Go get the newest drivers from Realtek. I believe it's R254. I always use the Realtek drivers for my MSI X58 or any other board with HD audio. You'll be fine.
     
  3. Nigel Atkins

    Nigel Atkins

    Messages:
    3,019
    Ratings:
    +61
    you need to enable Rapture in the F1 2010 sound options.
     
  4. TR6speed

    TR6speed

    Messages:
    124
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks I will do that.

    I have the Rapture enabled.
     
  5. Tomas Torasen

    Tomas Torasen

    Messages:
    987
    Ratings:
    +95
    I also have lots of problem with my sound. Think of buying a sound card just to get rid of the mess.

    Would possibly anyone know what realtek driver would perhaps work for my Gigabyte EX58-UD5?
     
  6. TR6speed

    TR6speed

    Messages:
    124
    Ratings:
    +0
    I fixed my sound issue after I found this link http://segmentnext.com/2010/09/23/f1-2010-errors-crashes-freezes-fixes/ scroll down to #28 and try it. There is also a link after the fix for updating drivers. Good Luck.
     
  7. Nigel Atkins

    Nigel Atkins

    Messages:
    3,019
    Ratings:
    +61
    i have the GA-EX58-UD3R and on board sound worked fine, but it looks like TR6 has found a fix :D
     
  8. Tomas Torasen

    Tomas Torasen

    Messages:
    987
    Ratings:
    +95
    Thanks. I might try that. But I think my wierd sound is linked to the bugged replay function. It started to go in reverse as default now, so when I fast forward I get normal speed forward with a tape recorder winding sound in the BG.
    I believe it has to do with that the game needs to be installed in a specific folder to run correctly. I hear about the same bug from everyone on 64 bit system and game installed in "program files (x86)"