F1 2010 Slower in Cockpit view (compared to above helmet view, or other)?

F1 2010 The Game (Codemasters)
I started playing f1 2010 with the "above helmet view", but after a while I changed to cockpit view because it adds so much realism. But I discovered that with cockpit view, I have problems matching my old laptimes. But I still stick to the cockpit view because after starting using it, I feel that this is really how this game should be played. A lot more turns become "blind", and when you hit apex perfectly in those turns, its really a nice feeling!

I would say I´m in average 1-2 seconds slower using the cockpit view. No assists (including green line) in both view modes.

If you have played both modes, what is your experience? How much slower (if at all) do you drive with cockpit view? Maybe the gap decreases the more you play (I have played an average total 2-3 hours per track)?

EDIT: And another question: I think that any other view than cockpit should be seen as an Assist, and for example a lap time at the leaderboard showiong "No Assist", cockpit view should be mandatory. What is you opinion on this?

T-cam tends to be more accurate and consistant, but like you I play cockpit all the time, although its just down to practice and trusting where you car is on the track, I dont think for instance on Montreal im quicker in T-cam than in cockpit as ive practiced so much there in the cockpit it all come natural.

I found the opposite actually. Always used Tcam but really wanted to be in cockpit for realism but never liked the angle and driving felt a lot like guesswork.
I have tweaked a couple mods, to raise the cockpit view just a touch, and also add a soft 'look to apex' actionmap - now I am far quicker than my Tcam days.
Im sure purists would moan, well, let them - i need all the help I can get :p

81880172.jpg