SimuCUBE shipped with beta firmware?

Hi all.
I received my SimuCUBE direct drive kit from Simracingbay last week. I have been planning the purchase for a long time, while I studied as much about the kit as I could. I was familiar with the MMOS 2014 software as I used it on my previous DIY brushed motor wheel.
I have also heard of the new open beta SimuCUBE firmware, which is labeled as "officially not released yet".
I spent more than 3 hours trying to make my wheel work without luck. I tried to connect to MMOS and Granity software, even tried a fresh windows install to make sure it's not my old set of drivers that interfere.
In the game controllers window, my wheel was suspicious as it didn't show up as MMOS, but as SimuCUBE. I have seen other devices such as Arduino Leonardo renamed to something else, so I thought there might be the beta firmware on it.
Since nothing else helped, I tried to find the SimuCUBE config tool online, which gave no result. The only way to get the config tool is to download a firmware zip file from github.
Finally I downloaded the config tool with the latest 0.95 firmware package.
This time my wheel was recognised by the tool and a warning message popped up, my firmware is outdated. I didn't have an idea what my firmware version was my only chance was to update it, not knowing if my drive is working at all.
All in all, it was a success, I can use my servo drive with no problem.

However, the seller did not ever give a hint, not a piece of paper saying "Thank you for purchasing this excellent product. Be warned, this product has this and this of beta firmware on it and you need this tool from here and there."
Did I miss something obvious at some point in my excitement?