• Goodbye Dan Gurney, and thanks for the memories...
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Follow RaceDepartment also on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Twitch, Steam and / or YouTube.

S18 - General Discussion

Discussion in 'Presto GP' started by David Turnbull, Jul 4, 2017.

  1. dannyC

    dannyC

    Messages:
    7
    Ratings:
    +3
    I tried to connect to the practice server for Silverstone but I got an error Package Not Available when rFactor check for components. I have the Sylverstone track from ISI/S397 and the car mod from last races. I tried closing rFactor 2 and Steam but no lock... Anyone getting the same problem?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Blauweke

    Blauweke
    Premium

    Messages:
    113
    Ratings:
    +141
    I was just on the server, no problem for me
     
  3. David Turnbull

    David Turnbull
    PrestoGP Veteran

    Messages:
    2,901
    Ratings:
    +5,880
    no problem for me either, and tom and vale have been on and a few others.......

    do you guys have silverstone 2012 installed?
     
  4. dannyC

    dannyC

    Messages:
    7
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes, I have Silverstone_2012 version 1.76.

    I unsubscribe the workshop item Silverstone and I still got the problem after restarting steam and rf2.... I even did a files integrity check on rF2 with Steam...
    I also try to subscribe again to Silverstone but still unable to connect to server :(
     
  5. dannyC

    dannyC

    Messages:
    7
    Ratings:
    +3
    When I look in rF2 setting (where we can set video settings before starting single or multi players mod) I see a line in the startup log after trying to connect:
    Mod "S18R7SILVER 1.0" references a non-existent component "Silverstone_2012 1.6"
    Since I have 1.76, That must be the problem.

    BTW I'm running rf2 DX11 1109 beta
     
  6. David Turnbull

    David Turnbull
    PrestoGP Veteran

    Messages:
    2,901
    Ratings:
    +5,880
    ahhh so theres a new version, which is wierd because im subscribed to silverstone 2012 but can access the server fine so i must still have the 1.6 version installed too.
     
  7. David Turnbull

    David Turnbull
    PrestoGP Veteran

    Messages:
    2,901
    Ratings:
    +5,880
    yup thats the problem, the server was set to silverstone 2012 1.6

    the server now has silverstone 2012 1.76 :)

    so everyone whos been on goto steam workshop, search silverstone, unsubscribe then resubscribe and youll get the new version, it will appear in the same silverstone 2012 folder in installed/locations.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. dannyC

    dannyC

    Messages:
    7
    Ratings:
    +3
    Working now! :)

    Thanks David
     
    • Beer Beer x 1
  9. MOOOOOOOOOSCHT

    MOOOOOOOOOSCHT

    Messages:
    219
    Ratings:
    +494
    Sry all but I have to miss Silverstone too :(
    I too busy at the moment, working 24/7.
    Good luck and have fun :)
    I`ll be back ... in Spa :)
    Cyas
    Martin
     
    • Beer Beer x 2
    • Haha Haha x 1
  10. Valerio Vinassa

    Valerio Vinassa
    PrestoGP Veteran

    Messages:
    1,975
    Ratings:
    +3,308
    if you have a little stop take a beer Martin and think about us in the hard work of the professional driver:D

    hope see you at SPA mate;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Love Love x 1
    • Haha Haha x 1
  11. Bob Luneski

    Bob Luneski

    Messages:
    1,656
    Ratings:
    +845
    @David Turnbull Hi could you please pm me the server password. Going to embarrass myself, but you have to start a comeback somewhere :)
     
    • Beer Beer x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  12. krusti

    krusti
    Premium

    Messages:
    61
    Ratings:
    +55
    Sorry for being late guys, i can't race tonight, healt problems, i was hoping to feel a bit better but nope :(
     
    • Beer Beer x 2
  13. Vlad Dogar

    Vlad Dogar

    Messages:
    56
    Ratings:
    +98
    Sorry I was not able to announce it, but I can`t make it tonight.
     
    • Beer Beer x 2
  14. Bob Luneski

    Bob Luneski

    Messages:
    1,656
    Ratings:
    +845
    Ok, so 1) Sorry I talked in Qual, I didn't realize it had moved to qual
    2) I withdrew because I was 6 seconds off the pace
    3) What the HE double hockey sticks am I doing wrong? I expected to be off the pace by a couple seconds, but not 5 or 6. I know it's been 2 years since I raced, but this is ridiculous.
    4) How do you use DRS consistently? 1/10th the time I press the button and it says DRS active, the other 9 times nothing happens. Do you have to hold the button down???
    5) I've never driven these cars so am not familiar with the secret sauce setup tricks unique to this car like there was with the Race07 F1 Mod. Are there any? How about general guidelines for specific for this car that are different from your "Setup 101 book"

    Totally gutted as I love Silverstone.....however I love Spa even more, so I want to get 2 good weeks of practice in, any help with the above questions or other tidbits of advice would be great.

    Thank a zillion
     
    • Love Love x 1
  15. jego

    jego
    Premium

    Messages:
    255
    Ratings:
    +291
    @Bob Luneski I will try to be online a few times at the server to prepare for this last race. I need to work on my tyre wear and could give a few tips maybe. Probably around 7-9 GMT.
    The cars default setup is really slow, its way too stiff for my taste. Regarding the DRS, the button only needs to be pressed once to activate, it deactivtes by pressing the button again or when breaking.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Mario Marquez

    Mario Marquez

    Messages:
    26
    Ratings:
    +85
    Hi @Bob Luneski, I think I will be online some days next week around 8 PM GMT, so I could give you some tips.
    From my experience these cars need a very specific setup for each track. The most important points are:
    • Downforce ajusted to the track. Try to find the aero balance. For example, if you have oversteer in high speed corners, try to take some front wing out.
    • A very open differential config (low %) Anyway you need to be very careful while accelerating in 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear.
    • The suspension depends also on the circuit but I try to have the suspension as hard as possible without loosing grip. Antirollbars are also important and crucial for tire wear. Again, as hard as possible to prevent roll and have a fast reaction car but without loosing too much grip.
    • Camber and pressures. Important for the temperatures and contact patch of the tires. The Tires are very sensitive so driving smooth and not overheating the tires is a must. If you overdrive the car the tires won't last even a short sprint race of 10 laps.
    • And one of most important changes, the suspesion geometry (chassis in the setup menu). This defines the roll center, antisquat and antilift of the suspension. Higher antisquat values help corner out acceleration (ideal for monza for example) but affects the dynamic camber, which has effects in the corners.
      Antilift is linked to the antisquat and prevents the nose of the car from lifting while accelerating. Roll center affects the overall behaviour of the car with higher roll center providing a stable car but slower reactions in the inputs

    Hope it helps :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2017
    • Beer Beer x 3
    • Love Love x 1
  17. David Turnbull

    David Turnbull
    PrestoGP Veteran

    Messages:
    2,901
    Ratings:
    +5,880
    sorry its took so long to get the server up, in the process of doing it now :)

    track will be fsr belgium 2017 :thumbsup:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  18. Bob Luneski

    Bob Luneski

    Messages:
    1,656
    Ratings:
    +845
    @Mario Marquez Thanks a lot. These are so different from the F1 mod we used to use combined with not having driven in 2 years im just very frustrated. The only cure is laps...lots and lots of them :)
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Beer Beer x 1
  19. Peter Decker

    Peter Decker
    PrestoGP Veteran

    Messages:
    604
    Ratings:
    +930
    Replays from Silverstone are now uploaded to Mediafire. Sorry for the delay!
     
    • Beer Beer x 4
  20. jego

    jego
    Premium

    Messages:
    255
    Ratings:
    +291
    So I was just doing, or better say trying to do a few laps on Spa and after spinning out every single outlap I realized that I was running the MDF car.
    When selecting HDF it would still show the smaller wing. Anyone else had this?