Running With The Pack

Kurt "Yoda" Kalbfleisch

Scuderia Sprezzatura
Well, I'm there at last. When I started horsing around with AC in April, I thought I'd never be fast enough to run with the AI, even at 80%. Practice, everyone said. Practice will make you fast. And I thought setups would do it, so I focused on setting up the car. And I got frustrated, because nothing I did seemed to make the car go faster. I tried all sorts of setups, too. Downloaded miracle setups, expecting my lap times would go from abysmal to lightning in an afternoon.

Of course, I practiced. But mainly with an eye to improving my setups, because that HAD TO BE the secret to going fast, right? Had to be.

And I did get faster. Slightly. A little bit at a time.

I compared my lap times with real race drivers in similar cars, as posted on the WEC results pages -- and finally accepted that I couldn't ever measure up. No way. I'll never be that fast.

Inevitably, I started playing around with AI. Hot lapping was fun, but frustrating, and I thought maybe I'd have more fun if there were other cars on the track. The prospect of racing with cars going faster than me was daunting, though. There was no way I'd ever be able to race with those AI cars, even at 80%.

And then I realized that, by creating my own AC career, I could adjust the AI to BELOW 80%, and hey, that would be a great way to inject some fun into the simulation. I did a little research, found a racing series that looked like it would be fun to (sort of) emulate, and I built it: Corse Clienti's Ferrari Challenge Europe. Because I could include all the tracks from the '15 season. I adjusted the AI percentages for all the opponents to 40%. As a starting point. Because, you know, I'm slow.