Renault GP test female driver De Villota

Spanish driver María de Villota took to the wheel of Renault's R29 at the Paul Ricard Circuit earlier this month to become the first female to drive a modern F1 car since Katherine Legge in 2005.

The test took place in early August in secrecy to give the current Superleague Formula driver and daughter of ex-F1 driver Emilio de Villota, the chance to taste F1, and allow her to become familiar with the onboard systems and car balance.

"As a female driver, I was very happy to get the opportunity to drive in a Formula 1 car," she said.

"Formula 1 is the pinnacle of motor racing and has always been a dream for me. The running went very well, conditions were ideal, and the team made me feel at ease straight away. It did not take too long to get used to the car and, after I felt comfortable with it, I was able to start pushing and, as a result, really enjoyed the experience. I have been impressed by Lotus Renault GP’s professionalism. I want to thank the team a lot for this opportunity."

Team principal Eric Boullier added: "We were delighted to offer María the chance to drive in the R29. As a team, we pride ourselves on our ability to assess new talents and offer different drivers opportunities with us.

"María did exactly what was expected of her; she took things one step at a time, and achieved some very reasonable laptimes, not putting a foot wrong all day."

It's believed Bernie Ecclestone was present at the test and had a hand in organising the day, as he's keen to see a women in F1.

So what do you guy's think if a female Driver had a shot at F1 with the big boys? no sexism or you'll be reported.

A Female in F1, that would be great. First, because she will be the first Female to race in F1 plus she got talent because who said it is so easy to get in F1 if you don't got talent.