F1 2010 Racing with a controller

F1 2010 The Game (Codemasters)
Hello all! I'm new to F1 2010, and am using a SteelSeries 3GC controller (I know...cheap...). I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for racing with this controller. I've noticed that turning the traction control off results in a ridiculous amount of "spinning out" because moving the joystick left means that you are cutting the wheel all the way to the left. There is no way on this controller to just give it a 25% turn or a 50% turn...only 100%. So the resulting method is generally a series of short flicks on smooth corners. I'm assuming that people who race with the keyboard have similar issues. My biggest questions are:

1. Has anyone figured out how to keep the car under better control using a similar controller or the keyboard?

and

2. Has anyone developed their own method for racing with the keyboard/similar controller that has improved their lap times? My laps are off the pace in against anything but amateur AI, even when I feel like I had a great lap and was as close to the racing line as possible.

Thanks,
Alex

...yes. they are posts about this. in short practice. figure out what doesnt work for this corner then come back and find what does work. as for the controller, firm but gentle. there are variances in application.

Keep the delicate fingers but wrath in your white knuckled grip.

Thanks guys. I'll keep at it. Any preferences as to cornering methods? Right now my general approach is brake, turn in, release brake, continue turn in, accelerate. I've been tending to have more luck with this method than with a more realistic brake, release brake/turn in simultaneously, accelerate through. Any advice for this? Or just practice? Haha!