• Racing is not a matter of life and death. It's much more important than that!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. There's no such thing as a stupid question.

Puddles after patch solution

Discussion in 'F1 2010 - The Game' started by Gary Thompson, Nov 5, 2010.

  1. Gary Thompson

    Gary Thompson

    Messages:
    105
    Ratings:
    +24
    Solution and credit in video :-
    Code:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0xLkGkQ0bI
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Kevin Amankwah

    Kevin Amankwah

    Messages:
    1,041
    Ratings:
    +71
    Will work for some people and not for others. Personally on one of my PCs the puddles started to flash meaning that they formed and drained quickly.

    Kudos to the people looking out for ways to fix it. Other than the thread asking for specs on Codemasters forums there has been no official word from them regarding this issue.
     
  3. karbinder

    karbinder

    Messages:
    64
    Ratings:
    +1
    Shame this wont work yet for people with a dual core :s
     
  4. filaszbrna

    filaszbrna

    Messages:
    119
    Ratings:
    +22
    simply amazing!!! :D hope this work test it when arive home THX


    Solution is to rename workerMap2Core.xml to workerMap2Core_original.xml in system folder and copy workerMap4Core.xml to workerMap2Core.xml.

    is this mean that I have to copy content of workerMap4Core.xml to workerMap2Core.xml or renaming do hte same thing?
     
  5. rayzchiew

    rayzchiew

    Messages:
    7
    Ratings:
    +0
    unfortunately it doesn't work for me though i've an i5 processor...
    puddles still disappear after 10 seconds in the session
     
  6. Gary Thompson

    Gary Thompson

    Messages:
    105
    Ratings:
    +24
    You rename original workerMap2Core.xml to workerMap2Core_original.xml to save the original in case it doesn't work.
    Remember, it only appears to work for Quad core processors.

    I simply copied workerMap2Core.xml and saved it somewhere else; then copied workerMap4Core.xml to workerMap2Core.xml in the game system folder and played the game.
     
  7. schumpi

    schumpi

    Messages:
    22
    Ratings:
    +0
    I doubt that this is the solution! I still notice that your puddles disappear on the starting grid.
    Puddles must be more like this I think:

     
  8. stoker

    stoker

    Messages:
    14
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried this and it *does* work for me (although I edited hardware_settings_config.xml instead) - however it still doesn't look right. The best example is turn 4 at Melbourne: the large patches of concrete either side of the track are almost like a mirror while the track itself is rough and dark, with a few puddles. I kinda hoped it would be seamless.
     
  9. Peter

    Peter
    who cares Premium

    Messages:
    1,723
    Ratings:
    +667
    I like my puddles-poodle.



    F1_2010_game_2010_11_02_19_08_36_627.jpg F1_2010_game_2010_11_02_19_07_32_277.jpg Chaosproef 018.jpg
     
  10. Conveen

    Conveen

    Messages:
    37
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have workerMap.xml, workerMap.xml, workerMap2core.xml, workerMap4core.xml, workerMap8core.xml in system from F1 2010. I delete workerMap4core.xml and rename workerMap2core.xml in workerMap4core.xml. This was correct? If yes this not work for me. :(
     
  11. rebornbiker

    rebornbiker

    Messages:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    no conveen you should do the following.
    In documents\my games\formulaone\hardwaresettings you will find a file called hardware-settings-info.xml. Open this file in xml editor or notepad. If your cpu is identified wrongly as having 2 cores instead of 4 then continue.

    in your f1 2010\system folder you will find files named workermap2core.xml, workermap4core.xml etc
    Rename workermap2core.xml to workermap2coreoriginal.xml and rename workermap4core.xml to workermap2core.xml
    Backup original files of course!!
    Start game and you should have puddles back [​IMG]
     
  12. Conveen

    Conveen

    Messages:
    37
    Ratings:
    +0
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
    <hardware_settings_info>
    <systemInfo OS=" (Build 7600)" totalMemory="4194303" winPlatformID="2" winMajorVersion="6" winMinorVersion="1" isWinXP="false" isWinVista="false" isWin7="true" rating="4" />
    <cpu name="Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 975 @ 3.33GHz" speed="3340" cores="4" hyperThreading="true" sse2Supported="true" rating="3" />
    <graphics_card name="ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series" vendorId="0x1002" deviceId="0x6898" vs_shader="3_0" ps_shader="3_0" memory="749" rating="4" dx11="true">


    ok this looks correct I think.

    in your f1 2010\system folder you will find files named workermap2core.xml, workermap4core.xml etc
    Rename workermap2core.xml to workermap2coreoriginal.xml and rename workermap4core.xml to workermap2core.xml


    When I do this my game dont start no more. :( Maybe there missing the workerMap4Core.xml?
     
  13. rebornbiker

    rebornbiker

    Messages:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    conveen, as you correctly say your cpu is correctly identified so messing with the workermaps will have no affect.
    You are correctly using the 4 core map so renaming it will cause your game to work incorrectly.
    This fix is for people whose 4 core cpu is identified as a dual core and hence uses the wrong worker map
     
  14. Conveen

    Conveen

    Messages:
    37
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok the game identified my 4 core correct! So I cant do nothing then the get the puddles back? :(

    How I say, I rename workermap2core.xml to workermap2coreoriginal.xml. After that I rename workermap4core.xml to workermap2core.xml. After the game dont start because the missing the workermap4core.xml.
     
  15. rebornbiker

    rebornbiker

    Messages:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    conveen you will need to return the workermap files to their original names for the game to work. Unfortunately you will not get the puddles back unless codemasters issue a fix
     
  16. Conveen

    Conveen

    Messages:
    37
    Ratings:
    +0
    This what I do! But the game start no more.

    It looks now like this: workerMap.xml, workerMap2Core.xml, workermap2coreoriginal.xml and workerMap8Core.xml

    I do this what you told me. But game do not start.
     
  17. Conveen

    Conveen

    Messages:
    37
    Ratings:
    +0
    It looks now like this: workerMap.xml, workerMap2Core.xml(was workerMap4Core.xml before), workermap2coreoriginal.xml and workerMap8Core.xml
     
  18. rebornbiker

    rebornbiker

    Messages:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    conveen rename workermap2core.xml back to workermap4core.xml.
    rename workermap2coreoriginal.xml to workermap2core.xml
    All should be back to normal and working again.
     
  19. rebornbiker

    rebornbiker

    Messages:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    It would seem that the puddles issue is by design and will not be fixed by codemasters [​IMG]
    Below is the reply from codemasters regarding the issue of no puddles or reflection during a wet race.

    Thank you for submitting your recent request to Codemasters Customer Services concerning F1 2010.

    Thank you for your comments, we have passed them on to the producer of the game and our design team. However the rain effects have been reduced with the patch as it was felt there was too much standing water present on the track.

    If you need further assistance, please reply to this email and INCLUDE THIS LINE IN YOUR REPLY:-

    {|CALLID|}=*******

    Or include the entire text of this email.

    Kind regards
    Rob
    Codemasters Customer Services
     
  20. RRenaissance

    RRenaissance

    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe if we all ask then another 100 times, they find that they would save time by just fixing it instead of answering all our emails ;-)