1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Power & Coast

Discussion in 'R3E Setups' started by 2scoops, Jan 20, 2016.

1. 2scoops

Premium Member

Can someone explain briefly what they are please?
  2. Lars Hansen

Lars Hansen
    RDs Ion-Engine....0-60 in six days. Staff Premium Member

No. :D

(Note that I'm not a petrol-head, so there's every chance I've gotten this wrong.....)
    (Also note that this applies to RWD only. I have very little experience with FWD)

Okay, so the basis of the whole discussion is that when you enter a turn your left and right wheel will have to rotate at different rates.
    The outside wheel has further to travel, and the wheels are the same size, so it'll have to rotate faster to travel the same distance, right?

The differential lock controls how much torque (power) is transferred to each wheel, and how freely each wheel is allowed to spin.
    Fully open (0%) means each wheel gets 50% torque no how at which speed it spins, fully locked (100&) means both wheels spin equally fast and the torque gets distributed to make this happen.
    Easiest way to picture this is to imagine a car with the left wheel on dry tarmac, and the right on a patch of ice.
    With a fully open diff, both wheels gets 50% torque, but there's no traction on the right wheel so you're not going anywhere.
    A locked diff means that the torque gets transferred to the left wheel (since it's spinning slower), so you get more power to the wheel with traction.
    With me so far?

So what does this mean to our race-car?
    Well, first of all our race-car has two diff-settings, power and coast.
    These control the differential when you're ON the throttle (power-setting) or OFF the throttle (coast-setting).
    So the power-setting will control behaviour EXITING a turn (since you're on the power) and the coast-setting controls behaviour ENTERING a turn (when you're off the power).