• "Bite off more than you can chew and then chew like hell." - Peter Brock
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parc Fermé

Discussion in 'F1 2012 - The Game' started by Magnus HQ, Oct 6, 2012.

  1. Magnus HQ

    Magnus HQ

    Messages:
    12
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone else experienced parc fermé rules in changing wheather conditions? I qualified in rain at Melbourne but the race should be dry but I wasn't allowed to change settings between qualify and race!
     
  2. gui1415

    gui1415

    Messages:
    27
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes that is right, its your job to know that could rain in the race :)
    Ps: you can change the front wing ;)
     
  3. Magnus HQ

    Magnus HQ

    Messages:
    12
    Ratings:
    +0
    But in real life teams are allowed to change settings "due to a change in climatic conditions". Why not in the game?
     
  4. Andrey Varlamov

    Andrey Varlamov

    Messages:
    112
    Ratings:
    +22
    34) POST QUALIFYING PARC FERME
    "
    - if the FIA technical delegate is satisfied that changes in climatic conditions necessitate alterations to the specification of a car, changes may be made to the air ducts around the front and rear brakes and radiator ducts. These changes may be made at any time after the message “CHANGE IN CLIMATIC CONDITIONS” is shown on the timing monitors, from this point the choice of air ducts around the front and rear brakes and radiator ducts is free and pitot tubes may be covered or uncovered, subject always to compliance with the relevant Technical Regulations.
    "
    Maybe there is something else. :)
     
  5. Tom

    Tom
    Staff Emeritus Premium

    Messages:
    5,793
    Ratings:
    +3,194
    I thought it's both wings...didn't check if it really works tho, just saw that I *COULD* have changed it when the weather changed. :O_o:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. gui1415

    gui1415

    Messages:
    27
    Ratings:
    +2
    So it's just the front wing right? i was just wondering if could be a bug for me
     
  7. taz1004

    taz1004

    Messages:
    207
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yea but my problem is that if it rains in qual and dry in race, obvious choice is to qualify with dry setup in the rain. I sacrifice some time during qual because I could go a couple seconds faster with wet setup. But the AI's, they're fast in both conditions as if they're changing their setups from wet to dry to wet. Even during changing conditions in race.
     
  8. Mark Adams

    Mark Adams

    Messages:
    88
    Ratings:
    +11
    tax, that is , and yes it's a serious issue that they need to address.
     
  9. Graham Laing

    Graham Laing
    ...... mostly harmless Staff

    Messages:
    6,309
    Ratings:
    +2,088
    Of course I don't know if it's true, but I have no reason to disbelieve it. I read that the AI just use the default setup ...... no changes in any conditions, i.e the 'balanced' setup.

    That would be logical from a programming point of view I suppose, less variables to handle .....
     
  10. flukey

    flukey

    Messages:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    One area I would like to see introduced is the ability to change your front wing angle (take wing off or add more wing) at the pitstop as they do in real life to help the car at different phases of the race......
     
  11. Tom

    Tom
    Staff Emeritus Premium

    Messages:
    5,793
    Ratings:
    +3,194
    I remember that being possible at all times in F1 2012 but maybe they thought it's just too many buttons for the average player. It would be possible tho since currently there's only UP (Fuel), RIGHT (Tyres) & DOWN (Brakes) arrows visible in the menu - left is unused. :)
     
  12. Mateusz Najda

    Mateusz Najda

    Messages:
    699
    Ratings:
    +225
    You meant 2010, didn't you? ;) Unless you now something, we don't :)
     
  13. Tom

    Tom
    Staff Emeritus Premium

    Messages:
    5,793
    Ratings:
    +3,194
    Yes, 2010. :unsure:
     
  14. ENDR

    ENDR

    Messages:
    1,455
    Ratings:
    +672
    I think you could do it only twice a lap though, to raise and lower the wing.

    Btw - wow, that idea really was a dud, wasn't it? It didn't improve overtaking even a bit, unlike DRS :D
     
  15. Tom

    Tom
    Staff Emeritus Premium

    Messages:
    5,793
    Ratings:
    +3,194
    I thought it was 3 times...but well, that was quite a while ago. :D
     
  16. flukey

    flukey

    Messages:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    In 2010 you could change your wing on track as that was introduced for overtaking (which didnt work) but Im referring more to the ability to change the wing angle at the pit stops as you sometimes see on TV to help balance the car as the fuel loads come off or in changeable conditions.......