Newcomer

Hi there,
I'm new to multiplayer sim racing, having only raced on forza 2 and 3 before. I bought Race07 a few hours ago and have done a few events with the AI and am enjoying it.

I'm effectively wondering how I should break into the multiplayer aspect of it all, I'm still waiting on a wireless receiver so I can hook up my wheel, so I'm only using a gamepad at the moment, and I'm slightly worried about not being competitive (I can do about 1.37 - 1.38 consistently on Brands Hatch in the 3 series).

Alongside this, having never simmed before, I have no idea what kind of etiquette is involved with it. I really don't want to jump onto some server and find out I'm in everyone's way, either through not knowing what I'm doing, or just being damned slow.
So I'm wondering if there's a friendly environment where I can find out whether I'm competitive and learn the ropes, without ruining somebody else's race.

On the other hand, I don't want to jump into a race full of 8 year old chimps and get crashed into once every 3 seconds for the duration of the event, which is my experience with every other online game... ever. For this reason I've held out entirely on going multiplayer before seeking advice.

Thanks for your input,
Biscuite

First of all, welcome :) Those are a lot of questions :) Let me see what I can answer for u.

In regards to racing etiquette, take a look at this information. Basic rules are explained here.
If you want to join the simracing, I would suggest you apply for a license on the bottom of this information. Make sure you read all the terms and conditions so you know how the process goes.
After that, join the racing events. Here you will have no (or almost none) 8 year old wreckers. IF someone misbehaves, he will be addressed via the race admins, so there is some control in the level of racing.