1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
Like RaceDepartment on Facebook.

Newbie Race Sim player from the UK - Need Advice

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Metalogic, Feb 25, 2016.

1. Metalogic

Metalogic
    Premium Member

Hi - I'm just getting into Race Sims, after finally getting some decent hardware (gaming laptop with an Nvidia 970M GPU and quad core i7 CPU), and have researched some of the games online.

I've looking to buy a serious racing sim (e.g.. Rfactor 2, Race Room Experience, Automobilista/GSCE, Assetto Corsa, Project Cars etc.), but it's just not practical for me to have a FFB wheel and pedal setup in my living environment currently, so sadly will be limited to using just an Xbox One Controller, for now anyway.

I understand that all the above do support an Xbox One Controller to some extent, but which ones are most playable with just a controller and no wheel? I'm most drawn to Automobilista/GSCE, Rfactor 2 or Race Room Experience, but am unsure how playable these would be with just an Xbox One Controller, and would consider others, including ones not on my list above. Is this the right place to ask, or should I post this question elsewhere?

Initially (as I have a lot to learn), I will mostly probably be playing single-player, so am also looking for a game with a good AI. It could be fun to race against humans, though!

I'm open minded about which types of cars to race, but would probably favour "tin tops" over open wheel.

• Like Like x 1
  2. Kenny Paton

Kenny Paton
    Embarrassingly, Backmarker Champion 2015 & 2016 Staff Premium Member